Skip to main content
MARTINO™
Known Participant
Dec 1, 2016 10:32 AM UTC
Answered

How to convert lrtemplate to XMP ?

How possible to convert lrtemplate file into xmp file?

This system not work : Tutorial Convert lrtemplate to xmp - LR to PS Presets - YouTube

or this (are the same thing) : How To Convert Lightroom Presets to Adobe Camera Raw Presets - YouTube

Just write in this forum but I had no answer .

Just write here : Using Lightroom presets in Photoshop?

Many thanks in advance.

johnrellis
johnrellisCorrect answer
Legend
Nov 28, 2019 11:45 PM UTC

"You can’t import the old format [.lrtemplate]"

 

For future reference, for LR 7.2 or later: To import old-format .lrtemplate presets, click the "+" button at the top right of the Presets panel and do Import Presets, or right-click the preset group User Presets (or another non-built-in preset group) and do Import.

 

Note that the menu command File > Import Develop Profiles And Presets won't import old-format .lrtemplate presets. (Just another LR inconsistency.)

41 replies

giovannia98509741
Known Participant
Nov 17, 2024 8:47 AM UTC

This tool here can convert xmp to lrtemplate and viceversa: https://www.allievi-photography.com/lightroom-template-converter/

Translate
Participant
May 31, 2021 3:39 PM UTC

The John Rellis method worked for me. Thank you.

Translate
Participant
Apr 28, 2021 7:02 AM UTC

Hi, i have a doubt even the program lightroom convet lrtemplate into xmp. Those it work that same and have the same properties if i just install real xmp presets. It´s just a technical random question.

Thanks

Translate
johnrellis
Legend
Feb 6, 2021 8:59 PM UTC

"it's XMP format, which for some reason has .lrtemplate file extension. Hence, LR does not understand it. After i renamed the file with correct file extension - xmp - LR imported it without problems."

 

Glad you got it resolved.  LR's error message is more than a little unhelpful in this case.

 

[Use the blue reply button under the first post to ensure replies sort properly.]

Translate
johnrellis
Legend
Feb 6, 2021 8:24 PM UTC

"crs:PresetType="Normal" is the only mention of 'type' in these lrtempate files. So I guess this is Develop preset. "

 

Open  the .lrtemplate file in a text editor and copy and paste its entire contents here.

 

[Use the blue reply button under the first post to ensure replies sort properly.]

Translate
Participating Frequently
Feb 6, 2021 8:41 PM UTC

Here it is:

 

<x:xmpmeta xmlns:x="adobe:ns:meta/" x:xmptk="Adobe XMP Core 5.6-c140 79.160451, 2017/05/06-01:08:21 ">
<rdf:RDF xmlns:rdf="http://www.w3.org/1999/02/22-rdf-syntax-ns#">
<rdf:Description rdf:about=""
xmlns:crs="http://ns.adobe.com/camera-raw-settings/1.0/"
crs:PresetType="Normal"
crs:Cluster=""
crs:UUID="B4D316EF170349769308E13E7F7FE47A"
crs:SupportsAmount="False"
crs:SupportsColor="True"
crs:SupportsMonochrome="True"
crs:SupportsHighDynamicRange="True"
crs:SupportsNormalDynamicRange="True"
crs:SupportsSceneReferred="True"
crs:SupportsOutputReferred="True"
crs:CameraModelRestriction=""
crs:Copyright=""
crs:ContactInfo=""
crs:Version="12.3"
crs:ProcessVersion="11.0"
crs:WhiteBalance="As Shot"
crs:Saturation="0"
crs:Sharpness="0"
crs:LuminanceSmoothing="0"
crs:ColorNoiseReduction="0"
crs:VignetteAmount="0"
crs:ShadowTint="0"
crs:RedHue="0"
crs:RedSaturation="0"
crs:GreenHue="0"
crs:GreenSaturation="0"
crs:BlueHue="0"
crs:BlueSaturation="0"
crs:Vibrance="0"
crs:HueAdjustmentRed="0"
crs:HueAdjustmentOrange="0"
crs:HueAdjustmentYellow="0"
crs:HueAdjustmentGreen="0"
crs:HueAdjustmentAqua="0"
crs:HueAdjustmentBlue="0"
crs:HueAdjustmentPurple="0"
crs:HueAdjustmentMagenta="0"
crs:SaturationAdjustmentRed="0"
crs:SaturationAdjustmentOrange="0"
crs:SaturationAdjustmentYellow="0"
crs:SaturationAdjustmentGreen="0"
crs:SaturationAdjustmentAqua="0"
crs:SaturationAdjustmentBlue="0"
crs:SaturationAdjustmentPurple="0"
crs:SaturationAdjustmentMagenta="0"
crs:LuminanceAdjustmentRed="0"
crs:LuminanceAdjustmentOrange="0"
crs:LuminanceAdjustmentYellow="0"
crs:LuminanceAdjustmentGreen="0"
crs:LuminanceAdjustmentAqua="0"
crs:LuminanceAdjustmentBlue="0"
crs:LuminanceAdjustmentPurple="0"
crs:LuminanceAdjustmentMagenta="0"
crs:SplitToningShadowHue="0"
crs:SplitToningShadowSaturation="0"
crs:SplitToningHighlightHue="0"
crs:SplitToningHighlightSaturation="0"
crs:SplitToningBalance="0"
crs:ParametricShadows="0"
crs:ParametricDarks="-14"
crs:ParametricLights="+14"
crs:ParametricHighlights="0"
crs:ParametricShadowSplit="25"
crs:ParametricMidtoneSplit="50"
crs:ParametricHighlightSplit="75"
crs:SharpenRadius="+1.0"
crs:SharpenDetail="25"
crs:SharpenEdgeMasking="0"
crs:PostCropVignetteAmount="0"
crs:GrainAmount="0"
crs:LensProfileEnable="0"
crs:LensManualDistortionAmount="0"
crs:PerspectiveVertical="0"
crs:PerspectiveHorizontal="0"
crs:PerspectiveRotate="0.0"
crs:PerspectiveScale="100"
crs:PerspectiveAspect="0"
crs:PerspectiveUpright="0"
crs:PerspectiveX="0.00"
crs:PerspectiveY="0.00"
crs:AutoLateralCA="0"
crs:Exposure2012="+0.55"
crs:Contrast2012="+29"
crs:Highlights2012="+19"
crs:Shadows2012="-13"
crs:Whites2012="+21"
crs:Blacks2012="+17"
crs:Clarity2012="+12"
crs:DefringePurpleAmount="0"
crs:DefringePurpleHueLo="30"
crs:DefringePurpleHueHi="70"
crs:DefringeGreenAmount="0"
crs:DefringeGreenHueLo="40"
crs:DefringeGreenHueHi="60"
crs:Dehaze="+9"
crs:Texture="0"
crs:ConvertToGrayscale="False"
crs:OverrideLookVignette="False"
crs:ToneCurveName2012="Linear"
crs:CameraProfile="Default Color"
crs:HasSettings="True"
crs:CropConstrainToWarp="0">
<crs:Name>
<rdf:Alt>
<rdf:li xml:lang="x-default">Bright &amp; Clean001</rdf:li>
</rdf:Alt>
</crs:Name>
<crs:ShortName>
<rdf:Alt>
<rdf:li xml:lang="x-default"/>
</rdf:Alt>
</crs:ShortName>
<crs:SortName>
<rdf:Alt>
<rdf:li xml:lang="x-default"/>
</rdf:Alt>
</crs:SortName>
<crs:Group>
<rdf:Alt>
<rdf:li xml:lang="x-default">1 Bright &amp; Clean</rdf:li>
</rdf:Alt>
</crs:Group>
<crs:Description>
<rdf:Alt>
<rdf:li xml:lang="x-default"/>
</rdf:Alt>
</crs:Description>
<crs:ToneCurvePV2012>
<rdf:Seq>
<rdf:li>0, 0</rdf:li>
<rdf:li>255, 255</rdf:li>
</rdf:Seq>
</crs:ToneCurvePV2012>
<crs:ToneCurvePV2012Red>
<rdf:Seq>
<rdf:li>0, 0</rdf:li>
<rdf:li>255, 255</rdf:li>
</rdf:Seq>
</crs:ToneCurvePV2012Red>
<crs:ToneCurvePV2012Green>
<rdf:Seq>
<rdf:li>0, 0</rdf:li>
<rdf:li>255, 255</rdf:li>
</rdf:Seq>
</crs:ToneCurvePV2012Green>
<crs:ToneCurvePV2012Blue>
<rdf:Seq>
<rdf:li>0, 0</rdf:li>
<rdf:li>255, 255</rdf:li>
</rdf:Seq>
</crs:ToneCurvePV2012Blue>
<crs:Look
crs:Name=""/>
</rdf:Description>
</rdf:RDF>
</x:xmpmeta>

Translate
Participating Frequently
Feb 6, 2021 8:51 PM UTC

ok, i undertand now... it's XMP format, which for some reason has .lrtemplate file extension. Hence, LR does not understand it. After i renamed the file with correct file extension - xmp - LR imported it without problems.

Translate
johnrellis
Legend
Feb 4, 2021 4:33 AM UTC

The error message is, "The preset file was the wrong type of preset". This indicates that the .lrtemplate file is not a Develop preset but another kind of preset, most likely a local-adjustment preset that appears in the Effect menu for local adjustments (Graduated Filter, Radial Filter, Adjustment Brush). 

 

You can easily check the type of the .lrtemplate. Open it in a text editor (e.g. Notepad or TextEdit) and look for one these lines:

 

type = "LocalizedAdjustmentPreset",

type = "Develop",

 

If indeed it's a local-adjustment preset, then to install it, click Preferences > Presets > Show All Other Lightroom Presets. That will open File Explorer / Finder on the "Lightroom" folder, and put the .lrtemplate file into the "Local Adjustment Presets" subfolder.

 

[Use the blue reply button under the first post to ensure replies sort properly.]

Translate
Participating Frequently
Feb 6, 2021 8:04 PM UTC

Thanks, but...

crs:PresetType="Normal" is the only mention of 'type' in these lrtempate files. So I guess this is Develop preset. 

Translate
Participating Frequently
Feb 3, 2021 9:38 PM UTC

Sorry... but still the same question about importing lrtempate presents. I read this thread but still cannot understand how to import new lrtempate presets i got from ViewBug community.
I'm using LR Classic 10.1.1. In Presets panel, I clicked on Import... in Presets panel, select a preset from my folder (not zip) 

and then get an error message as below 

Appreciate any help! thanks in advance!

 

Translate
Rob_Cullen
Community Expert
Community Expert
Feb 3, 2021 10:30 PM UTC

With LrC shutdown, use File Explorer to copy the .lrtemplate files into-

C:\Users\YourName\AppData\Roaming\Adobe\Lightroom\Develop Presets\User Presets

A restart of LrC will convert and copy the presets as .XMP files to the 'new' location shared with Camera Raw.

 

 

Translate
Regards. My System: Windows-11, Lightroom-Classic 15.6, Photoshop 27.8, ACR 18.7, Lightroom 9.4, Lr-iOS 10.4.0, Bridge 16.0.3 .
Participating Frequently
Feb 6, 2021 8:37 PM UTC

Thank you for the prompt answer but it still does not work 😞

Translate
Participant
Dec 20, 2020 10:40 AM UTC

Fantastic - Thanks for this  - I have been going round in circles - worked perfectly 

 

Translate
johnrellis
Legend
Nov 23, 2020 8:17 PM UTC

@coreyc60589564 wrote, "All my old presets are the lrtemplate and I'm now using Lightroom Classic version 10.0, the newest one I believe as I just got it. I do as instructed in your post and all my presets are in the Develop Presets folder as lrtemplate. See screenshots. However, when I restart my computer, they aren't transferred to the new extension. What am I doing wrong?"

 

When a version of LR later than 7.2 starts (including LR 10), it looks for old-format .lrtemplate presets in the Develop Presets folder and converts them to new-format .xmp presets in a new Settings folder. The easiest way to find that new folder is by doing Preferences > Presets > Show Lightroom Develop Presets, which will open File Explorer or Finder on that folder.

 

Note that the old .lrtemplate presets in the old Develop Presets folder will be renamed to start with "~~" to indicate they've been converted.

 

When you start LR 10 and edit a photo in Develop, do you not see your presets?  Click the + button in the upper-right corner of the Presets panel and do Manage Presets.  Check the boxes next to all the preset groups to make sure they're visible.

 

If you don't see your presets in the Presets panel, do Show Lightroom Develop Presets and show us a screenshot of the contents of the Settings folder.

 

[Use the blue reply button under the first post to ensure replies sort properly.]

Translate
johnrellis
Legend
Oct 17, 2020 8:14 PM UTC

"When I click the plus button on the presets panel and click on the folder with the "lrtemplates" it says "unable to import presents". It works only with xmp files."

 

Your screenshot adds a crucial detail: you're importing from a .zip. Unfortunately, LR won't import .lrtemplate presets contained in a .zip.  You'll have to extract the .zip into a folder, then when importing with Presets panel > + > Import Presets (not File > Import Develop Profiles and Presets), navigate to that folder and select all the .lrtemplate files in it.

 

When Adobe implemented the new .xmp format for presets, it did a pretty bad job with the user interface, with lots of rough edges that continually confuse many, many people:

https://feedback.photoshop.com/conversations/lightroom-classic/lightroom-remove-all-the-rough-edges-around-importing-presets/5f5f46264b561a3d42766b2c 

 

They've shown no inclination to fix any of this.

 

[Use the blue reply button under the first post to ensure replies sort properly.]

Translate
Participant
Oct 18, 2020 1:49 PM UTC

Wow thank you! It did work now. But you're definitely right it's so complicated to find out how.. 

Translate