Skip to main content
Participant
Oct 16, 2024 9:50 AM UTC
Answered

Previous version of LR (back up)

Hi, just wondering if I open a old back up catalogue will I loose any current changes?

This topic is closed to new replies. Start a new post to keep the conversation going.
dj_paige
dj_paigeCorrect answer
Legend
Oct 17, 2024 10:06 AM UTC

First, these do not appear to be backups. These appear to be older versions of your catalog file. You may want to find the location of true backups and open those (after unzipping the file).

 

Double-clicking on any one of them will open the catalog into LrC. It does not "revert" the current version to the old one; it lets you use the old one without changing the current.

4 replies

dj_paige
Legend
Oct 16, 2024 10:20 AM UTC

Anything you did in Lightroom Classic since you made the backup are not in the backup, so yes you will lose those. Anything of your work that was present when you made the backup will still be in there.

Translate
Participant
Oct 17, 2024 9:44 AM UTC

Thank you jp_paige.      I have completely messed up the LR Catalogues on my computer.     For some reason I have 3 Catalogues listed under the HD I have.   I feel based on what you said if I try and open one of the previous versions it will revert the current version to the old one?   Is this correct?   Even though I have three versions?   

 

Translate
dj_paige
dj_paigeCorrect answer
Legend
Oct 17, 2024 10:06 AM UTC

First, these do not appear to be backups. These appear to be older versions of your catalog file. You may want to find the location of true backups and open those (after unzipping the file).

 

Double-clicking on any one of them will open the catalog into LrC. It does not "revert" the current version to the old one; it lets you use the old one without changing the current.

Translate