Skip to main content
Participating Frequently
Nov 13, 2016 11:05 PM UTC
Answered

How can I importing a custom workspace preset into Photoshop CC

I'm taking a Lynda.com course: Pastel Drawing with Photoshop. A custom workspace is provided. The file name is Pastels LE.psw. It is loaded through Edit>Presets>Export/Import Presets, then restart Photoshop. But when I go to choose this workspace, it's not in the list. Is there a different way? thank you

    Pamela5FFECorrect answer
    Participant
    Oct 18, 2021 9:11 PM UTC

    Hi Peter,

    Time has passed but in case you see this post: I successfully exported and then imported, but it never showed up in the Workspace pulldown? It was a .psw file from the same version of Photoshop (2020) so I thought it would work- hoping to recover my custom settings, argh. Thanks.


    Hi there,

     

    I ran into the same issue – I've always been able to copy my custom workspaces and move them to a new machine without any issues, but for some reason Photoshop now makes you export and then import them through a different process.

     

    EXPORT

    1. On the machine where you have your workspaces saved, open Photoshop and go to Edit -> Presets -> Import/Export Presets...
    2.  Click on the Export Presets tab
    3.  Choose which workspaces(s) to export
    4.  Choose a location to export the workspaces; copy those to a location you can access on the new device

     

    IMPORT

    1.  Do the same thing in Photoshop on the new machine, but this time import the workspaces: Edit -> Presets -> Import/Export Presets...
    2.  Make sure you're on the Import Presets tab
    3.  Navigate to the location where you've saved your exported workspaces
    4.  Click Import Presets
    5.  Go to Window -> Workspace -> and your imported workspace(s) should be there!

    13 replies

    Participant
    Dec 4, 2024 12:19 PM UTC

    Mac OS Ventura running Photoshop 2024:
    1. In Finder, click 'GO' in the top menu. When the menu appears hold 'ALT/OPTION' and your hidden 'LIBRARY' menu item will appear. Click on 'LIBRARY'.
    2. Navigate to Library/Preferences/Adobe Photoshop 2024 Settings/Workspaces
    3. Drop or Copy/Paste your .psw file into here. (Dropping into the Workspaces (Modified) folder didn't work for me).
    4. Restart Photoshop, your workspace should appear at the top.

    Translate
    Participant
    Dec 26, 2023 7:11 PM UTC

    You can paste your workplace configuration in this location : 

    /Users/yourusername/Library/Preferences/Adobe Photoshop 2024 Settings/WorkSpaces

    Translate
    Trevor.Dennis
    Community Expert
    Community Expert
    Dec 26, 2023 10:35 PM UTC

    Windows 10 and 11

     

    C:\Users\[Your User Name]\AppData\Roaming\Adobe\Adobe Photoshop 2024\Adobe Photoshop 2024 Settings\WorkSpaces

     

    Translate
    pMarie55
    Participant
    Jul 21, 2024 3:28 PM UTC

    Thank you, Trevor. This worked for me on my new Win 11 PC. 

    Translate
    sanhllmAuthor
    Participating Frequently
    Nov 14, 2016 12:10 AM UTC

    thank you Dave. I have a mac, and can't find any workspaces folder.

    Translate
    davescm
    Community Expert
    Community Expert
    Nov 14, 2016 12:24 AM UTC

    On a Mac try here :

    Users/[user name]/Library/Preferences/Adobe Photoshop CC 2017 Settings/WorkSpaces

    Or for modified spaces :

    Users/[user name]/Library/Preferences/Adobe Photoshop CC 2017 Settings/WorkSpaces (Modified)

    Dave

    Edit If the folders are hidden - this may help:

    Access hidden Mac OS library files

    Translate
    sanhllmAuthor
    Participating Frequently
    Nov 14, 2016 2:19 AM UTC

    I found where to drag the file into. But it still doesn't show up in Photoshop as a workspace to choose.  I think the problem is with the file. The icon in not a document icon like other files in the WorkSpaces (modified) folder. It has the same extension .psw but the icon is a black screen shape with green letters exec. Thank you very much for your help.

    Translate
    davescm
    Community Expert
    Community Expert
    Nov 13, 2016 11:28 PM UTC

    You could try putting it directly in the workspace folder.

    On Windows 10 mine are in :

    C:\Users\username\AppData\Roaming\Adobe\Adobe Photoshop CC 2017 \Adobe Photoshop CC 2017 Settings \Workspaces (Modified)

    Dave

    Translate