Skip to main content
nicky9499
Participating Frequently
Mar 2, 2015 3:06 AM UTC
Answered

Image > Mode (RGB/CMYK) Grayed Out

Hi everyone,

I'm working on a print image. It started out as an RGB photo, and then got quite complicated with layers and masks and text etc. Somewhere along the way I seem to have lost the ability to convert this document to CMYK now that I am ready to send it for print. The menu in question is grayed out.

How can I fix this please?

    jam_wilson
    jam_wilsonCorrect answer
    Participant
    Jun 7, 2018 9:15 PM UTC

    It's probably because your image is saved in the 32 Bits/Channel mode. You need to save it down to 8 Bits/Channel. When you do this you'll see that the CMYK option reappears and isn't greyed out anymore.

    19 replies

    Participant
    Oct 26, 2024 4:41 PM UTC

    This happens when you're in quickmask mode, de-select that option if you see a checkmark next to it. 

    Translate
    Participant
    Jun 18, 2024 3:20 PM UTC

    The answer to your question was to change the image from 32 bit to 8 bit...BUT the Mode option is greyed out,  so how does one change from 32 bit ot 8 bit without the MODE Options?

    Translate
    Participant
    Apr 25, 2023 3:32 PM UTC

    Hi !
    Just wanted to reiterate that the solution was the same for me, the Quickmask was on.
    When Off it works fine.
    Thanks !

    Translate
    jam_wilson
    jam_wilsonCorrect answer
    Participant
    Jun 7, 2018 9:15 PM UTC

    It's probably because your image is saved in the 32 Bits/Channel mode. You need to save it down to 8 Bits/Channel. When you do this you'll see that the CMYK option reappears and isn't greyed out anymore.

    Translate
    Participant
    Aug 27, 2020 10:04 PM UTC

    Yup, this is it. Worked like you said it would. Thank you very much

    Translate
    Participating Frequently
    Dec 11, 2015 4:09 PM UTC

    I had the same issue with a file from a coworker.  What worked for me was the same as Pophetben.  The Quickmask is on.

    Translate
    Participant
    Oct 22, 2015 5:28 PM UTC

    I had this problem when I had my Quickmask turned on. Worth a look.

    Translate
    Participant
    Apr 24, 2017 1:50 PM UTC

    Deleting the Quickmask layer in the Cnannel solved this problem for me.

    Translate
    Participant
    Jun 2, 2017 7:04 PM UTC

    yes! that is what fixed it for me as well.

    thanks!!!

    Translate
    nicky9499
    nicky9499Author
    Participating Frequently
    Mar 2, 2015 6:50 AM UTC

    Yes, I would also like to know why this is happening. The document was wholly made in CC at my workplace. If I try to open it in CS6 at home, I get this message:

    This document contains unknown data which will be discarded to keep layers editable. To preserve the original appearance instead, choose Flatten to load composite data as a flattened image.


    I have no idea what this means. I know that if Photoshop is missing a linked file it will retain its original appearance until I right click > Replace Content on that layer. This is the first time I have encountered this error. Convert to Profile > CMYK flattens the document, but everything looks the same. How do I check if my document is indeed CMYK now?

    Thank you.

    Translate
    gener7
    Community Expert
    Community Expert
    Mar 2, 2015 7:18 AM UTC

    What does the document tab on top indicate?

    Translate
    gener7
    Community Expert
    Community Expert
    Mar 2, 2015 4:45 AM UTC

    I don't know offhand why this is happening, but if you have to get thiis finished,

    You can make a copy (Image > Duplicate), flatten it and see if you have a RGB to CMYK option. You would want a flattened copy for printing.

    Also make an unflattened copy if you have to quit Photoshop and re-open to see if you get it back.

    Another way is Edit > Convert to Profile > CMYK (You would see a warning that some layers would have to be removed)

    Translate