Skip to main content
Participant
Jan 30, 2026 3:23 AM UTC
Answered

Select Subject within Mask Interface is not accurate with the masked image.

As mentioned in the original description, select subject does not work correctly from the masking interface, however if I use it outside of it and then create a mask it works. This has been an issue for me that has spanned multiple version, so I am unsure if its an issue on my end or not. I have reset my preferences with no success, and I believe I have previously reinstalled also with no success.


I am using Photoshop 27.3 on Windows 11 with an Nvidia RTX 3080ti.

    Anshul_Saini
    Anshul_SainiCorrect answer
    Community Manager
    Feb 27, 2026 6:28 PM UTC

    Hi ​@TylerMoore,

     

    Sorry for the delayed response. Thank you for sharing the full System Info.

     

    Based on what you provided:

    • Photoshop 27.3.0

    • Windows 11

    • NVIDIA RTX 3080 Ti

    • GPU acceleration enabled

    • Dual GPU listed (NVIDIA + AMD integrated)

     

    First step, please update to Photoshop 27.4. Second, since you have both an RTX 3080 Ti and AMD integrated graphics listed, please try this:

    • Go to Windows Settings > System > Display > Graphics

    • Add Photoshop if not listed

    • Set it to High Performance (NVIDIA GPU only)

    • Restart Photoshop
     

    Also, disable the integrated GPU: https://helpx.adobe.com/camera-raw/kb/acr-gpu-faq.html#gpu-use
     

    Then test Select Subject inside the Mask interface again.

    • Edit > Preferences > Image Processing

    • Set Select Subject to Cloud

    • Restart Photoshop and test

     

    If the issue still persists in 27.4 after forcing the NVIDIA GPU, please share a short screen recording showing the steps leading up to the actual issue.

     

    Looking forward to your update.

     

    Regards,

    Anshul Saini

    5 replies

    Participant
    Apr 24, 2026 12:47 PM UTC

    Hey there! I had the same problem and your last response did the trick. thanks!!

    Translate
    Claire H.
    Community Manager
    Community Manager
    Apr 24, 2026 6:00 PM UTC

    Hi ​@martink41610762, Glad to hear that the recommendation worked for you! Please don’t hesitate to reach out if you have any questions or run into any other issues. Happy editing! ^CH

    Translate
    Sameer K
    Community Manager
    Community Manager
    Jan 30, 2026 3:34 PM UTC

    Hey, ​@TylerMoore. Welcome to the Photoshop Community. Please share the system info from Photoshop Help > System info > Copy & paste into a text document > upload & attach here. Does this happen with any image? 

    Try changing the Select Subject mode from Edit > Preferences > Image Processing > Select Subject to Cloud & Selection process to Stable. 

    If this does not help, go to the location of the preference folder below and rename it to backup.

    • Windows 10/11: Users/[user name]/AppData/Roaming/Adobe/Adobe Photoshop [version]/Adobe Photoshop [version] Settings
    • You can press Press the Windows key > Enter 'Run' > Enter %APPDATA%\Adobe
    • Rename the Adobe Photoshop folder by adding a .old at the end. (Adobe Photoshop 2026 > Rename > Adobe Photoshop 2026. old), You can restore these preferences later if needed.(https://adobe.ly/4860qM9)
    • Restart the computer.

    These changes will give Photoshop a fresh start as a new install. Let me know how it goes.

    Thanks!

    Sameer K

    (Type '@' and type my name to mention me when you reply)

    Translate
    Participant
    Feb 1, 2026 11:55 PM UTC

    ​@Sameer K This happens with all images. I tried to the changes to preferences that you mentioned, and had no success. I also renamed the backup folder and rebooted, and still had no success and the issue is still present. 

    Translate
    Anshul_Saini
    Community Manager
    Anshul_SainiCommunity ManagerCorrect answer
    Community Manager
    Feb 27, 2026 6:28 PM UTC

    Hi ​@TylerMoore,

     

    Sorry for the delayed response. Thank you for sharing the full System Info.

     

    Based on what you provided:

    • Photoshop 27.3.0

    • Windows 11

    • NVIDIA RTX 3080 Ti

    • GPU acceleration enabled

    • Dual GPU listed (NVIDIA + AMD integrated)

     

    First step, please update to Photoshop 27.4. Second, since you have both an RTX 3080 Ti and AMD integrated graphics listed, please try this:

    • Go to Windows Settings > System > Display > Graphics

    • Add Photoshop if not listed

    • Set it to High Performance (NVIDIA GPU only)

    • Restart Photoshop
     

    Also, disable the integrated GPU: https://helpx.adobe.com/camera-raw/kb/acr-gpu-faq.html#gpu-use
     

    Then test Select Subject inside the Mask interface again.

    • Edit > Preferences > Image Processing

    • Set Select Subject to Cloud

    • Restart Photoshop and test

     

    If the issue still persists in 27.4 after forcing the NVIDIA GPU, please share a short screen recording showing the steps leading up to the actual issue.

     

    Looking forward to your update.

     

    Regards,

    Anshul Saini

    Translate