Skip to main content
Known Participant
Jun 20, 2024 2:02 PM UTC
Question

Elements 2023 Colors Washed Out

Every image I open in Elements 2023 is significantly desaturated compared to the same file in other paint programs. The image on the left is the washed out version Elements displays, and the one on the right is how it should look. How do I fix this? Every picture is like this, and it's seriously aggravating!

  

This topic is closed to new replies. Start a new post to keep the conversation going.

12 replies

Greg_S.
Community Expert
Community Expert
Jun 21, 2024 8:07 PM UTC

A couple more suggestions.  I have no idea if they will work:

  • Reset the preferences file. Go to Edit>Preferences>General tab and click the Reset Preferences on next launch button.
  • Uninstall and reinstall the program (and choose the option to delete the preferences on uninstall).
Translate
Known Participant
Jun 23, 2024 9:34 AM UTC

Neither of them fixed it... so if it's not the files or the Elements settings, what on Earth could it be?

Translate
Greg_S.
Community Expert
Community Expert
Jun 21, 2024 6:58 PM UTC
Known Participant
Jun 21, 2024 7:26 PM UTC

I just tried it, and it didn't fix the problem, and also made everything way darker and less accurate.

Translate
Greg_S.
Community Expert
Community Expert
Jun 21, 2024 6:40 PM UTC

You are right - I cannot recreate your issue.  But this is because you haven't explained your workflow.  I have opened both the png and psd files in Elements 2023 and they are identical.  The RGB colors are all pure in the Info panel e.g. Red is 255/0/0 in both images.  It is the same with the Hex code in the Color Picker.

And the images are identical to my view:

 

What I notice is that your original screenshots are different dimensions. 

 

So, at some point, I assume that you have resized one of the images.  I suppose it is possible that during this process the compression algorithm has substituted the color.  (I'm not an expert in this and am just guessing.)

 

So, what is your workflow that created this problem?  What other paint programs are you using?  Which program created the file?  How was it saved and what settings were used to save it?

Translate
Known Participant
Jun 21, 2024 6:49 PM UTC

Nothing was resized, I was just lazy with taking screenshots. 🙂 Even brand new, unsaved images I create in Elements display improperly, and when I export an image created in Elements it displays correctly in other programs (I use Paint.NET mainly). So the files and the way they're saved/exported are not the issue - it's Elements itself, possibly a broken setting somewhere.

Translate
Greg_S.
Community Expert
Community Expert
Jun 21, 2024 3:25 AM UTC

Can you attach a sample file for us to look at?

Translate
Known Participant
Jun 21, 2024 8:42 AM UTC

Sure, though I doubt you all will be able to recreate the problem given the RGB codes/color profile/etc. are all correct. This screenshot proves the issue further - if you use the eyedropper on the current/new color you get something other than FF0000.

 

Translate
Greg_S.
Community Expert
Community Expert
Jun 20, 2024 5:26 PM UTC

Go to Edit>Color Settings and see if changing the settings there makes a difference:

 

Translate
Known Participant
Jun 21, 2024 12:38 AM UTC

I've tried all of these and restarted in between changes, and it made no difference.

Translate
hatstead
Inspiring
Jun 20, 2024 4:44 PM UTC

What is the resolution of these "desaturated" files?

Also, go to Image>Mode and be sure that RGB color is checked.

When printing one of your files, have either PSE or the printer manage colors, not both.

Translate
Known Participant
Jun 21, 2024 12:37 AM UTC

All sizes are affected, although I normally work in the 128 x 128 to 2048 x 2048 range, and the mode settings don't make a difference. I'm not printing these images, they're staying digital.

Translate