Skip to main content
KellyLane
Participating Frequently
May 12, 2022 11:56 PM UTC
Question

Photoshop effects

I have photoshop 2022.  When trying to add the artistic effects to my photo it just looks grayed out.  I read that I need to be in 8 bit channel, however it isn't allowing me to select this from the drop down menu.  How do I fix this?  

This topic is closed to new replies. Start a new post to keep the conversation going.

21 replies

Greg_S.
Community Expert
Community Expert
May 14, 2022 3:30 PM UTC

Hmmm . . .  I have been able to reproduce the issue by applying an artistic effect to a blank image.

 

 

At this point, all I can suggest is to completely uninstall and reinstall the program.  On the uninstall, you will be asked whether you want your preferences to be deleted (I'm not sure of the exact wording).   You should answer yes.

Translate
Greg_S.
Community Expert
Community Expert
May 13, 2022 7:11 PM UTC

What graphics card do you have?  Try updating your graphics driver from the driver's manufacturer.

Translate
KellyLane
KellyLaneAuthor
Participating Frequently
May 13, 2022 7:30 PM UTC

 

Translate
Greg_S.
Community Expert
Community Expert
May 13, 2022 6:01 PM UTC

If Jeff's suggestion doesn't work, try resetting the preferences file. Go to Edit>Preferences>General tab and click the Reset Preferences on next launch button.

Translate
KellyLane
KellyLaneAuthor
Participating Frequently
May 13, 2022 6:39 PM UTC

Ok, I tried that and also closed out the program and restarted my computer and it's still just grayed out.  

Translate
Jeff Arola
Community Expert
Community Expert
May 13, 2022 6:44 PM UTC

Have you tried any other images?

Translate
Jeff Arola
Community Expert
Community Expert
May 13, 2022 4:02 PM UTC

Can you post a screenshot of what your seeing when you click on the Layers button?

 

 

Translate
KellyLane
KellyLaneAuthor
Participating Frequently
May 13, 2022 4:11 PM UTC

 

Translate
Jeff Arola
Community Expert
Community Expert
May 13, 2022 4:47 PM UTC

If you Delete the Artistic Effect layer by clicking on the Delete layer icon at the right top of the layers panel, then press Shift+Ctrl+Alt+E to copy the visible layers to a new layer on top and then try one of the Artistic Effects, does that make a difference?

 

 

Translate
Chuck Uebele
Community Expert
Community Expert
May 13, 2022 2:53 PM UTC

Moved to the Photoshop Elements forum, from the Photoshop forum.

Translate
Jeff Arola
Community Expert
Community Expert
May 13, 2022 2:31 PM UTC

Looks like your already in 8 bits/channel and your using photoshop elements 2022.

 

What happens when you click on one of the thumbnails in the Effects>Artistic panel?

 

Translate
KellyLane
KellyLaneAuthor
Participating Frequently
May 13, 2022 3:28 PM UTC

 

Translate
Bojan Živković11378569
Community Expert
Community Expert
May 13, 2022 4:09 AM UTC

Go to Image > Mode > select RGB or Grayscale if you are in Bitmap mode to have more options available. It is best to work in RGB mode unless you really need to change to some other mode.

Translate
KellyLane
KellyLaneAuthor
Participating Frequently
May 13, 2022 12:02 PM UTC

 

Translate
Chuck Uebele
Community Expert
Community Expert
May 13, 2022 2:19 AM UTC

What bit depth are you using, and what color space? Is your file a  bitmap file?

Translate
KellyLane
KellyLaneAuthor
Participating Frequently
May 13, 2022 12:00 PM UTC

When I go to camera raw it say 8, however when I go to image>mode> 8 bit channel isn't an option to pick.  Says I'm in RGB color as well.  

Translate
Myra Ferguson
Community Expert
Community Expert
May 13, 2022 1:50 AM UTC

Would you be able to post a screenshot of your full screen including what you see when you go to Image > Mode?

Translate
KellyLane
KellyLaneAuthor
Participating Frequently
May 13, 2022 11:56 AM UTC

 

Translate
KellyLane
KellyLaneAuthor
Participating Frequently
May 13, 2022 12:03 PM UTC
  1.  

Translate