Skip to main content
Known Participant
Nov 16, 2025 10:45 AM UTC
Question

PSE 21 how to draw a shape with no fill but with an outline

Is there a way to create a shape i.e. a rectangle with no fill but with an faint outline to use as a guide? Example I want a card outline around these image so when I print I can see where to cut. I have the shape but cannot figure out how to have no fill. I made the shape with the shape tool because if I use rectangular marquee I cannot see how to make an outline because it just disappears when I click off it.

3 replies

Inspiring
Nov 16, 2025 12:32 PM UTC

Please, try the following:

- Draw a rectangle with the Rectangle Tool

- In the options bar, open the Style picker > chhose "Visibility" category > apply the "Hide" style:

- In the PSE menu, choose "Lyer > Layer Style > Style Settings..."

- In the Style Settings dialog, check the "Stroke" box > set the stroke width and color:

***

An easier way to do this:

- Create a new empty layer

- Select an area with the Rectangular Marquee tool

- In the PSE menu, choose "Edit > Stroke (Outline) Selection..."

Translate
Participant
Nov 19, 2025 8:47 AM UTC

Thanks for your clear explanation, very helpful. I was struggling with making shapes, not realising that using the rectangular marquee tool is the best option. However, I would like to make rounded corners for the same 'empty' shape. Do you might have a solution for that too? I am using PSE by the way, not PS, hopefully there is a possibility to do this.

 

Translate
Inspiring
Nov 19, 2025 5:03 PM UTC

You can follow the first instruction above.

Just use the Rounded Rectangle instead of the Rectangle tool.

 

Or, if you prefer the Rectangular Marquee:

- Create a new empty layer

- Select an area with the Rectangular Marquee tool

- In the PSE menu, choose "Select > Modify > Smooth..." and set the "Sample Radius", e.g., 20 px

- In the PSE menu, choose "Edit > Stroke (Outline) Selection..."

 

Translate