Skip to main content
Participant
Sep 3, 2024 7:01 AM UTC
Answered

Color Balance (HLS) - missing

Have a nice day.
Color Balance HLS effect stopped showing in Obsolete effects.
I've been using it practically daily, it's a huge deal for me!
Please put it back or tell me how to set H to -5 in a few steps.
Spinning every shot with wheels is complete nonsense.
I don't understand what was wrong with such a simple effect in the program that it had to go away.
Sorry for my English, Google.
R Neil Haugen
R Neil HaugenCorrect answer
Legend
Oct 9, 2024 12:30 AM UTC

Sorry. but it isn't coming back. I miss a couple of the obsolete things myself, so I do understand.

 

That said, for anything color, there's newer code with better math anyway in the newer effects.

Everyone's mileage always varies ...

28 replies

R Neil Haugen
Legend
Sep 11, 2025 7:51 PM UTC

I've been around colorists over a decade. Now working with and teaching them.

 

HLS and Fast Color both were often given by colorists as reasons not to trust anything 'color' corrective in Premiere. The math, well ... was past problematic. So the two effects as far as colorists were concerned were verboten for use with broadcast workflows.

 

To keep them, they would have to have been rebuilt from scratch. Which is not a small amount of work. And given these two factorrs:

 

1) only a tiny segment of the user base used them, and

2) the same capabilities existed in Lumetri ....

 

I can totally see the logic in not making new such effects.

 

Does it suck for those used to them? Of course.

 

But then, I was used to and enjoyed working some of my business data in dBase. Seen dBase anywhere recently?

 

Me neither. As nothing in computer "life" is permanent. Which is a pain but it's what it all is. 

Translate
Everyone's mileage always varies ...
Participant
Apr 16, 2025 6:22 AM UTC

This is what you call the opposite of making things simple and easy to use, adobe should learn from apple (simplicity is the best).

Translate
Participant
Mar 20, 2025 5:03 PM UTC

todos nos precisamos disso de volta!

Translate
Participant
Dec 31, 2024 6:54 AM UTC

i went through the same issue as you. I fixed by having one of my presets from a previous version where I had the color balance mixed with other effect. I created a new Presets with the default value of the hls color balance. Now I can just use it like before

Translate
Participant
Dec 25, 2024 1:26 AM UTC

I tink they deleted it, but I found an alternative to it! its called "ProcAmp" It's in Video Effects>Adjust>ProcAmp

Translate
Participant
Nov 1, 2024 9:44 AM UTC

Another completely pointless and damaging move from Adobe

Translate
R Neil Haugen
Legend
Nov 1, 2024 4:52 PM UTC

What specific thing were you using it for?

Translate
Everyone's mileage always varies ...
Participating Frequently
Dec 16, 2024 5:06 PM UTC

HLS adjustments 🙂

Mostly tweaking logo colours with clients next to me on supers. Now all the old projects will be broken on newer builds forever.

Translate
Participating Frequently
Oct 17, 2024 4:10 PM UTC

If this is still an issue for you, I found a solution that actually works. Go to Video Effects > Adjust > ProcAmp and apply ProcAmp to a clip. You will be able to keyframe the Hue to change over time, and set the hue change amount to a specific value. 

Translate
Participant
Dec 8, 2024 7:34 PM UTC

*Thank* you. No lecture about what's best for users; just the answer I was looking for.

Translate
Participant
Oct 8, 2024 9:25 PM UTC

somebody needs to find a solution on how to bring this effect back rather than giving useless alternatives. Its like asking for an apple and recieving an orange instead

Translate
R Neil Haugen
R Neil HaugenCorrect answer
Legend
Oct 9, 2024 12:30 AM UTC

Sorry. but it isn't coming back. I miss a couple of the obsolete things myself, so I do understand.

 

That said, for anything color, there's newer code with better math anyway in the newer effects.

Translate
Everyone's mileage always varies ...
Participating Frequently
Oct 10, 2024 4:25 AM UTC

There has to be a new effect coming which will allow hue shifting to be keyframed. This is a basic feature that any other editing software can easily accomplish. What happened?

Translate
R Neil Haugen
Legend
Sep 3, 2024 5:47 PM UTC

That was ancient code, and ... several pro colorists I know had tested it, and found the math basis seriously flawed. It may seem quick and easy, but it's a badly designed mashup.

 

Yes, it would be nice to have say numbers available in the HSL curves, but ... make sure you have the Vectorscope up, and view the change in the scope as you apply changes to the curves. Practically, it can work, and work better than the old obsolete effects.

 

That said, I have complained over the EOL decision for SpeedGrade years ago, to the point of being clearly disliked by a previous Premiere manager, even though I was always ... politely, if constantly ... noting the problems that would come from that choice. For Adobe and the users.

 

I've politely requested massive upgrades in Lumetri since it appeared, as it does have many limitations. Even if in most cases the math involved is far better than most of the Obsolete effects used. Still, it could use some work.

 

And the 25.x public beta includes massive further changes. Needed, but of course, as video color is actually pretty complex ... I'll be needing to help a lot of people through the changes coming.

Translate
Everyone's mileage always varies ...
Participating Frequently
Oct 10, 2024 4:26 AM UTC

It may have been ancient code, but at least it worked. An alternative of nothing is nothing. 

Translate
Community Expert
Sep 3, 2024 8:20 AM UTC

You can achieve a similar effect using the Hue vs Hue curve in the Lumetri Color panel.

  1. Go to Window > Lumetri Color to open the Lumetri Color panel.
  2. In the Lumetri Color panel, expand the Curves section and find Hue vs Hue.
  3. Add a point to the curve and drag up the line to shift the overall hues.


It's also worth noting that effects in the Obsolete folder, including the Color Balance (HLS) effect, have been removed in Premiere Pro 24.6.


For more details, you can refer to this guide: Adjust Color Using RGB and HSL Curves.

Translate
Participant
Sep 3, 2024 9:37 AM UTC
And why so complicated?
And also inaccurate!
You can't set the value, it drags the mouse, yes, sometimes these functions come in handy, but for such a quick adjustment, it's unnecessary and inaccurate. 
The line is clicked and never clicked the same way and the result is not so good. Lengthy, unnecessarily laborious. Why why why??? I don't see a single reason to remove something as simple and functional as a simple number entry on three lines!!!
Terrible!!!
Is there any way to get the feature back?
Because of this, I went back to the original version, where zooming in on the timeline with the mouse does not work again. So I was finally happy that this was fixed in the new version and... Aaaaah
Translate
Participant
Apr 3, 2025 12:55 PM UTC

I found a fix to this! Color Balance HLS is still in the program and coding, just doesn't show in the effects panels. If you have a project that uses it, and you open it in the new PR Pro Version, it still works and you can apply it to other clips. You can make it a preset for easy use and stilla djust it and everything. Hope this helps! 

Translate