• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Adobe Claims I have a non-genuine software while I have an active CC subscription

Community Beginner ,
Apr 18, 2024 Apr 18, 2024

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Recently the Creative Cloud Desktop app started to open in a window every time I opened Photoshop. This is not that bad. I did get annoyed by it, as I'm of the opinion that no window should open up if I did not specifically ask for it to open. I tried to find a solution to the pop-up problem, but soon gave up because I don't want to spend time fixing problems that a monthly subscription service has. For a while ignoring the annoying extra window was fine as it opened only in Photoshop and not in other programs I use more often like Lightroom Classic and PremierePro.

Couple of days ago a new pop-up window showed up and this time it was an alert saying,
          "This unlicensed Adobe app is not genuine and will be disabled soon"

What is this? I have an active Adobe Creative Cloud subscription, the Adobe apps installed on this computer have been downloaded through Adobes own Creative Cloud app and as such should be 100% genuine.

The pop-up is super annoying as it opens with a lag. I am normally in flow coming from Lightroom or Premiere to do quick edits in Photoshop when suddenly the program stops responding and moments later the pop-up appears. You can not simply close the pop-up window by clicking the close window button at top right. The only way to close it is by clicking "Learn more" or "Shop offers" witch opens an Adobe web page that needs to be close separately. Time wise this takes litle time, but it is super annoying pulling me out of my work. The 5 day message has not changed in the time I have been seeing it. The first time I saw it was probably more than 5 days ago.