Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Form sent even though required fields are not filled in

Community Beginner ,
Sep 18, 2022 Sep 18, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello all,

I am a relative newbie when it comes to this, so any help would be greatly appreciated. I have created a form where a user fills out a form, clicks submit for approval, then it will send the form in an email to the person that has to approve it.  They fill it out click on 'submit for approval,' and the form is attached to an email that opens up, ready to enter in the approver's email address. 

Once the approver receives it and opens it, they fill out the remaining fields of the form (hidden until the user clicks on 'submit for approval', then click on 'submit approved form.' 

With the help of Try67, I was able to get this part working correctly but I just noticed that if I fill in nothing and click on 'submit for approval,' the email is generated with the blank form attached, even though most of the fields are required.

What I would like to happen is that the fields the approver has to fill in would be required, but if I set them as required, the first 'submit for approval' will not generate the email because required fields are missing. Well, that is what was happening before but does not happen now. This was what I was trying to find out when I just decided to see if it would send without filling in anything, and it did! Why is this happening?

Ki 

TOPICS
JavaScript , PDF forms

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Sep 23, 2022 Sep 23, 2022

Place this part of the script as a calculation script in any text field, you just have to change the field's name:

var emptyFields = [];

for (var i=0; i<this.numFields; i++) {