Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Acrobat Reader fails to start after Windows 10 update

Community Beginner ,
Nov 09, 2017 Nov 09, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi

Acrobat DC reader working fine with Windows 10.

Two weeks ago Windows 10 did an automatic update which failed (Edge stopped working)

Microsoft did a clean windows update to latest version of Windows 10 V 1709.

Since then Adobe Reader has not worked. Clicking on a pdf document causes nothing to happen.

Clicking on the reader Icon causes nothing to happen.

I have deinstalled and removed the reader and reinstalled.

I still get the same problem, unuseable!

Any ideas (I'm afraid I'm not too technical).

Many thanks

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Beginner , Nov 22, 2017 Nov 22, 2017

Hi

I kept having failures originally. In the end I found that uninstalling and then deleting all the contents and the folders worked for me. Once I did that I was able to reinstall. I had problems with the Windows update which had to have a 'clean' install update due to files corrupting on the original automatic update. That is what messed up Acrobat (also messed up Edge and OneDrive amongst other things). I hope that may be of help.

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe Employee ,
Nov 09, 2017 Nov 09, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi Garryc,

As Adobe Reader not working after installing Windows 10 update, try following troubleshooting steps to resolve the issue:

1- Reboot the machine if you haven't already and launch Reader again, does that work?

1- If not, run as administrator - steps are given here: Run an Adobe program as administrator | Windows 7, Vista