Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Adobe Reader Javascript Security Error

New Here ,
May 19, 2021 May 19, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Good afternoon everyone, 

I am fairly new to Adobe, therefore I apologize for a potentially silly question. 

I created a form in which I used the following JavaScript to essentially add/remove additional pages based on whether one of the various check boxs are selected or not:

if(event.target.value!="Off")
{this.getTemplate("t1" ).hidden=false;}
else
{this.getTemplate("t1" ).hidden=true;}

My form works perfectfully fine when utilizing Adobe Acrobat Pro 2017; however, when opened in Adobe Reader (where the individuals receiving this form will be opening it) the form does not respond to the JavaScript function. I receieve the following error:

"NotAllowedError: Security settings prevent access to this property or method.
Template.hidden:2:Field Risk 1:Mouse Up".

I have done some reading some the error, but the error seems to be somewhat universal and could be a result of many different issues. 

Any thoughts on how to avoid this issue?

Many thanks!

TOPICS
How to , PDF forms , Windows

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , May 19, 2021 May 19, 2021

Acrobat Reader can't hide or show template pages. Acrobat Reader can spawn and delete template pages. 

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Acrobat Reader can't hide or show template pages. Acrobat Reader can spawn and delete template pages. 

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Thank you, Bernd Alheit.