Skip to main content
November 12, 2017
Answered

Can I disable the floating page overview numbnail that appears on the right?

I would like to turn off the small overview of the entire page that appears on the right side in Adobe Acrobat Pro DC.

I don't find it useful, often covers up the text that I'd like to read when I've maximized the document to take up the entire screen's width. How could I stop this from appearing?

Thank you for your help!

    AkanchhaS8194121
    AkanchhaS8194121Correct answer
    Legend
    January 19, 2023

    I really like your method. Thank you.

    With a document open, it allowed me to View > Show/Hide > Toolbar Items > Show Page Display Tools > Uncheck Fit to Width Scrolling.

    So now I have zero page display tools checked. 


    Also, at the top of the "Page Display" Preferences page, 
    Default Layout and Zoom, I selected "Page Layout: Single Page Continuous" and Zoom: Fit Width", instead of default. 

    I also made sure that within "Documents" underPreferences, the top box under Open Settings - "Restore last view settings when reopening documents" was checked.

    I think that should really help, too. 

    I clicked OK for each setting change (OCD) just to be sure, and once finished, I closed Acrobat, reopened and well, that should cover it. 

    Thank you, chiropterist, for your heads-up about the Reference XObjects View Mode setting.  Thank you! Thank you!! 


    Hello everyone,

     

    This Floating overview thumbnail appears when "Single Page View" is selected under the Acrobat>View>Page Display setting. 

    To disable this floating page overview, change "Single Page View" to  "Enable Scrolling."

     

    This will bring it back to normal mode, and thing floating thumbnail will disappear.

     

    Thanks,

    Akanchha 

    69 replies

    Participant
    May 3, 2026

    Thank you  Akanchha . Now what I want to know is why it is so damned complicated to get rid of an annoying box? I mean, look at your instructions. One would hope that it wouldn’t be so easy to accidently turn the thing on and so difficulte and multistep complicated to get rid of it. Worst of both worlds. Apparently, from reading other responses, it’s possible to ‘x’ out of it, if only you can control your mouse to the micro pixel. This is stupid design, Adobe. Someone needs to fix this.

    Translate
    Anand Sri Bhattacharya
    Community Manager
    Community Manager
    May 5, 2026

    Hello ​@J25365734asih 

     

    I hope you are doing well, and thank you for reaching out. 

    The reply shared by the Adobe employee is for the old version of Acrobat/Reader. Could you please share more details about the issue?

    Are you on the latest build of Acrobat/Reader version 26.001.21529, Planned update, May 01, 2026, and experiencing the same issue? Is it a Mac or Windows machine, and what is the version?

    Are you using the freeware Acrobat Reader desktop app, or the paid version of Acrobat? Could you please share a screenshot of the window you get? Is it with all the PDFs, or with any specific PDF? 

    Check this Adobe article on the View preferences of a PDF: https://helpx.adobe.com/acrobat/using/viewing-pdfs-viewing-preferences.html

     

    We’re here to help, just need more info.

    Regards,

    Anand Sri.

    Translate
    Participating Frequently
    May 20, 2025

    Going to full screen and clicking the X worked for me.... 

    Translate
    Participant
    December 12, 2024

    I personally have found that this behavior has been trigger by a double click of middle scroll. Avoid this when possible. I have not found a way to disable it. I have noticed that the x to close it does work, but has an absurdly small region you can click on. You need to aim for the topmost pixel on the left of the x. It is closable, hope that helps. 

    Translate
    Participant
    March 1, 2024

    I tried all the methods in this chain and couldn't get them to work. I was just able to get rid of it by clicking the tiny box above the right side scroll up arrow (the cursor will change to a resize icon) which splits the screen, and then making one of the new screens full screen.

    Translate
    Participant
    November 9, 2024

    I know this thread has been going on for years.  I came across a solution a while back and it seems to work fine.

    First, I want to let everyone know, the Thumbnail does not pop-up randomly.  It pops up when you double click the roller on your mouse, if you have one.

    Also, some of the prior instructions are for Acrobat DC and do not work on the latest version.  I am currently using the Acrobat reader, Version 2024.004.20243 64 bit.

    A while back, I found an answer that seems to work.  I don’t know which forum I found it on but I can’t take the credit myself.  Although tedious, it does work consistently and on multiple platforms.

    What one needs to do is position the exact tip of the mouse arrow on the center pixel of the x on the thumbnail box then left click.  Be aware, it is extremely precise but depending on the screen resolution more or less difficult to get to.  I think one pixel off will not work.

    Another point is if your arrow has a shadow, it has to be the point of the actual arrow, not the shadow.  With a little practice it gets easier. 

    A third point is if you double click the center mouse button, it will re-appear. So, unless you want the navigating thumbnail, do not double click the center button on your mouse.

    I have found this solution works well when I am projecting a 50+ page document during a hybrid zoom (in room and remote) meeting where the shared screen and projected screen is the document. 

    It sure would be simpler if Adobe would simply make it so you could click anywhere on the little x.

    Good luck.

    Translate
    Participant
    November 13, 2023

    This is incredible. How is the team of Adobe so incompetent? 5 Years to solve something that a person without any experience with access to the code could solve. Shameless customer service. 

    Translate
    Participant
    November 10, 2023

    After 2 days, it will be 5 years of dicussion of "How disable the floating page overview "numbnail" that appears on the right of screen?". Adobe pays for nothing to employers, if they can't solve it in 5 years. Just add Preference and let people do their jobs with joy. 

    Translate
    Participant
    November 15, 2022

    It took me awhile but I finally got rid of it by setting the Default Layout & Zoom to "Single Page" & Zoom to "Fit Page".

    I got there by Edit > Preferences > Page Display

     

    Translate
    Participant
    November 15, 2022

    Scratch that, the "thumbnail" has re-appeared. Hey Adobe, can't you finally take care of this ?

    Translate
    Participant
    December 11, 2022

    Having the same issue. it's irritating. 

    Translate
    Participant
    May 19, 2022

    This is a pretty clunky workaround but it works reliably.  If you lower your screen resolution the "x" to close the floating thumb will become fully visible and easy to click on.  For some reason, it doesn't scale properly the way everything else does. So if you have any sort of HD resolution on your monitor that has a recommended scaling above 100% in the display settings, the close button for the box will get messed up.  

    Translate
    Participant
    May 18, 2022

    Solution: Lower your screen resolution and the "x" to close the floating thumbnail should become fully visible and easily clickable.  It's a pretty clunky solution but it works reliably.  

    Cause/Explanation: For some reason there are certain features of certain software that simply don't get addressed by the screen scaling in Win10 (unsure about 11).  This causes them to remain tiny even though everything else has scaled appropriately and looks normal on your screen.  I have a laptop with a 4k screen and stuff that doesn't scale is practically microscopic, so that's kind of one of the standard things I look at when I can't figure out why something's acting up. (Obviously not the first thing though since I wound up here.)   If you drop your resoltion to something stupidly low - or at least low enough that the "recommended scaling" is 100% - it should take care of it.  

    Translate
    Participant
    January 31, 2022

    I'm sure the answer is somewhere below, but I agree it's none of the first 10 or so. However, this happened to me once before and I DID find the solution. I just can't remember it now. So if you are just coming to this thread now [2022], keep going. [WARNING: This pesky, stupid "feature" happens if you double-click the mouse scroll button. So DON'T.]

    OKAY. FOUND A SOLUTION, provided by defaultxp84tl6rbcot at the very bottom of this thread, page 2. CUDOS to him. Here it is:

     

    UserSolution1)You MUST TRY as precisely as possible to aim for the the top right corner of the black border that encompasses the thumbnail. Aiming for the assumed sharp corner of this rounded black corner while ignoring the center of the white x works wonderfully(of course adobe should fix that

     

     

     

    He has a second solution, which I didn't need to try. Just move your cursor around while clicking. You should eventually hit it. And ACROBAT?

    REALLY?!!

     

     

     

     

    Translate
    Participant
    May 18, 2022

    Solution: Change your screen resolution and the close button will become visible.  It's a pretty clunky solution, but it works reliably.

     

    Cause: Some features of certain software don't get scaled by the screen scaling effect in Windows 10 (unsure about 11).  For example, I have a Lenovo Yoga with a 4k screen, which has a recommended scaling of 300% for windows; if I leave the scaling at 100%, the tabs in an Internet browser are about the size of a match.  For some reason some stuff just doesn't scale and remains tiny.  If you drop your resolution to something stupidly low, everything will resize and the "x" at the top right corner of the floating pan/zoom window will be fully visible and easily clickable.

    Bonus info: I've only seen this a couple of other times that I can remember.   The most widely available example for gotta-see-it-myself people to check out is the VBA editor in Microsoft Office.  A far more obscure example is the "view trades" popup in TDAmeritrade's custom trading platform.  

    Translate