• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

After effects adjustment layer has no effect on any layer I want to apply effect to.

New Here ,
Nov 19, 2017 Nov 19, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

hello everyone,

So im new to after effects and im trying to make an edit, but to make one of the transitions I have to use an adjustment layer and put it above the two clips i want the transition to be in. The problem is that whenever i apply the transform effect and change the position to the adjustment layer it doesn't seem to add any effect to my clips, meaning that when i play the video its like nothing happened, like no edit or change was made. My guess is that my adjustment layer isn't working.

If someone knows how to fix this it would really mean a lot!

Thanks! XOXO

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

It's a bit tough to figure out exactly what you're doing from your description, but an adjustment layer will indeed affect whatever is beneath it. There are several factors that could be contributing to your problem.
- Is your adjustment layer the size of your comp?
- You said you're adjusting position - within the Transform effect, or on the layer itself?

It also sounds like you might benefit from learning some of the basics - a lot of great info can be found right here on this site.
There's also some info & links about adjustment layers specifically.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,
Nov 20, 2017 Nov 20, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied