• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Can't enable all channels / Right channel appears grayed out in Waveform

Community Beginner ,
Nov 04, 2019 Nov 04, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I batch converted all my clips from mono to stereo, and now I'm having an issue. I'm new to Adobe Audition, so I'm hoping this is something super simple that I'm just missing!

In the multi-track, I can hear the sound coming from both channels. But when I go into the Waveform for each clip, the sound comes from only the left channel. I see waveforms in the right channel, but it appears grayed out. When I click on Edit/Enable Channels, it looks like only the Left channel is selected — but when I click on "All Channels" or "Right Channel" to enable them, nothing happens.

Any idea what could be happening here?

TOPICS
How to , Playback

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

For a start, you haven't achieved anything by converting your files - they're still mono, just spread across two channels; that doesn't confer any more operability with them - you can do nothing useful with a dual mono file that you can't do with just the single channel one.

If you can't turn one of the channels on, then the chances are that the metadata was corrupted somehow, or Audition has got itself into a faulty mode (this has happened before...). So firstly, close it and re-start it. If that doesn't fix anything, then restart it with the shift key held down. This will restart Audition with all the preferences set to their initial state. If that doesn't work, then you'll have to post the file somewhere so we can have a look at it.