• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Can you import metadata from an excel database to images (JPG, PSD, TIF) in bulk?

New Here ,
Apr 23, 2012 Apr 23, 2012

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am very new to working with metadata. I have a microsoft excel file with the IPTC Core fields I need for each image file.

(Creator, Headline, Description, Keywords, Title, Job Identifier, Credit Line, Source, Rights Usage Terms, Copyright Status and Copyright Notice)

Is there a way to get the metadata into the files without having to copy from a cell into each metadata field individually?

I am hoping some for sort of script, possibly...

Also, if only ONE of these fields needed updating in all of the files (i.e. Rights Usage Terms) can that be done?

I have Bridge 5.1 (and earlier versions CS3/CS4)

TOPICS
Batch , Import and export , Scripting

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 2 Correct answers

Valorous Hero , Apr 23, 2012 Apr 23, 2012

This might be of use...

DIY Metadata.jsx

EDIT: the link is there now: DIY Metadata.jsx

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert , Mar 14, 2023 Mar 14, 2023

Perhaps try tab delimited format instead of comma separated value format.

Edit – Paul Riggott originally wrote the following instructions:

1616665_DIY.png

N.B. The first field in the input file MUST be the filename only IE:- CRW_0001.jpg

This script will allow you to choose the fields and order they are in within either your CSV or TEXT file so that you can input your metadata.

Fields available are:-

Keywords 1 - These are Keywords that are in ONE field seperated by semicolons

Keywords 2 - These are Key

Votes

Translate

Translate
replies 127 Replies 127
Valorous Hero ,