• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Extendscript question - getting orientation info for copied images

Explorer ,
Nov 13, 2020 Nov 13, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi everyone, my first post in this community! I'm looking for a bit of help with scripting to automate copying files please.

I've been writing a simple script to copy selected thumbnails from bridge to a different folder. I'm completely new to javascript so feeling my way through - one problem that I've run into is that when the call is made to create the new bitmap file, the orientation information is lost so portrait images appear as landscape after they're copied to the new location.

Any suggestions as to how I can get the orientation information from the source file (the one that's been selected) prior to creating the new file? If I can get that then I can check if the newly created bitmap needs to be rotated but I can't work out how to access it. Here's what I've got so far:

var thumbs = app.document.getSelection("psd, jpg, png, tif, gif");
        alert(thumbs.length+ "files to copy");
        for(var i = 0;i < thumbs.length;i++)
{
if(thumbs[i].spec instanceof File)
{
var thumb = thumbs[i];
// create a BitmapData object
                 var bm = new BitmapData(thumbs[i].spec);                 
if(bm instanceof BitmapData)
{
// create the path and file name
var exportFilePath = destinationFolder + "/" + thumbs[i].name;
// create the new file in the target location
bm.exportTo(new File(exportFilePath));

TOPICS
Scripting

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Explorer , Nov 14, 2020 Nov 14, 2020

Ah that's useful to know, thank you Lumigraphics! I'm so new to this that even the most basic calls need a few pointers!