• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Purging Adobe Bridge Cache

New Here ,
Nov 06, 2012 Nov 06, 2012

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

ACK!  Ok, so I am a photographer, not a computer person.   I'm a single middle aged mom going back to school and my minor is photography..... I am still learning all I can do in CS5....  I just recently noticed my computer slowing down and now I am getting a pop up when I launch Bridge telling me to purge the cache folder in preferences. 

First off I don't completely understand what the cache folder is or what it does.

Secondly I know enough to know not to trust all popups.... so i need to understand what I lose if I purge the system.

Third... what options do I have to fix this problem?

Any help in basic untechy simple minded mom terms would be fabulous.  I really need to understand what this cache thing is...and what problems I am going to encounter if I purge it.... and what options I have to stop the pop up but maintain integrity of my files.

thanks!!!

Jen

TOPICS
How to , Performance

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Advocate , Nov 06, 2012 Nov 06, 2012

Should you decide to purge the Bridge cache (and let Bridge rebuild its thumbnails and previews as other posters have described), here's how:  Edit > Preferences.  Select Cache, then at bottom of that panel click the "Purch Cache" button (text next to it reads: Purge All cached Thumbnails and Previews).

You may be able to improve performance by purging only part of the cache, not all; that is -- selectively purge folders that you no longer are actively working with.  To do this:  Edit > Cache, th

Votes

Translate

Translate

Copy link to clipboard

Copied