• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Inconsistent Font Sizes

Community Beginner ,
Oct 01, 2023 Oct 01, 2023

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am a K-12 teacher and I use Adobe Express with my intro-level students. My school has paid for access to the full Adobe suite for years. One of the things I teach my intro students is how to choose the correct font size for printed projects. I have typesetter rulers and example posters around the room, and have been doing this job for many years. I know what a size 80 font is supposed to look like versus a size 24 font.

Ever since the new update, the font sizes in the new Adobe Express have just been really off. It's completely confused my students and frustrated me. It's not just my device/account; I know because it is happening on my student's devices/accounts as well. We are using the full web versions, not a mobile app. I'll include a couple photos below as examples:

I set up this file in Adobe Express as 11" wide and 8.5" tall, using Abril Fatface size 50. 

Screenshot 2023-10-01 at 11.45.47 AM.png

Based on my prior knowledge and experience, that does not look like a size 50 point size at all. Something is seriously wrong. To confirm this, I set up the same parameters in Google Docs: same page size, font, and font size, and it looks like this:

Screenshot 2023-10-01 at 11.45.56 AM.png

As you can see here, the font at size 50 is much larger. This is what I would expect from Abril Fatface at size 50. And just in case you still don't believe me, I repeated the same experiment in Adobe Illustrator. 

Screenshot 2023-10-01 at 11.58.02 AM.png

Abril Fatface at size 50 on an 11" by 8.5" document should be large enough to take up two rows in a text box. But, in Adobe Express it's very tiny. I tried to do a visual comparison and determined that Abril Fatface size 50 in Adobe Express is actually more like size 12 in Adobe Illustrator.