• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Camera Raw and 14 bit RAW files

New Here ,
Apr 11, 2022 Apr 11, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi everybody, I need an advice about this.

I'm using a Sony camera that supports 14 bit raw files, but when I open Camera Raw, I see at the bottom Adobe RGB 1998 8 bit... 

screen.png

Is there a 14 bit workspace mode?

I noticed that the only two options available are 8 or 16 bit.

I'm sorry, but I'm just a beginner, any help would be appreciated.

Thank you

Andrea

TOPICS
macOS

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

LEGEND , Apr 11, 2022 Apr 11, 2022

All high-bit data in Photoshop and ACR is 15 bits plus one level...done for algorithmic processing reasons. And since there really isn't a real life source of full 16-bit images, that's all the precision Photoshop/ACR needs.

So forget the reported depth of the camera and select 16-bit.

Votes

Translate

Translate
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

All high-bit data in Photoshop and ACR is 15 bits plus one level...done for algorithmic processing reasons. And since there really isn't a real life source of full 16-bit images, that's all the precision Photoshop/ACR needs.

So forget the reported depth of the camera and select 16-bit.

Author “Color Management for Photographers" & "Photoshop CC Color Management/pluralsight"

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Thanks. One more thing. I noticed that my camera delivers 350 ppi jpeg files.

Should I edit my ACR workspace from 300 to 350 ppi as well?

Thank you very much for your support

Best

Votes

Translate