Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

PowerPoint to Captivate

Community Beginner ,
Jul 29, 2016 Jul 29, 2016

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Greetings,

I am new to Captivate and have never started with a PP file. Trying to do so is confusing me ....

I have PowerPoint files with layered graphics (background and a couple of simple graphics atop). I want to be able to manipulate those graphics, e.g,. hide them until triggered.

However, after importing to Captivate, the slides are essentially flattened, so I cannot select graphic overlays. Each slide is one graphic.

Is this just how it is, or is there a way to maintain objects/assets upon import?

Thank you,

Amy

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

That's just how it is.  Captivate doesn't convert the PPT objects on slides into Captivate objects.  It just imports the PPT slide as either a static image or an SWF animation.  If you want control over which objects on the Captivate slide can be hidden and shown via Advanced Actions then you need to build your project from the ground up in Captivate, and forget about using PowerPoint as a starting strategy.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi Rod

Curious to know under what conditions Captivate converts PPT as a static image. I've never encountered that one myself.

Cheers... Rick

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

By 'static image' I meant that it's not animated. The format of the image background is still going to be SWF either way.

Votes

Translate

Translate