• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How to pin hair to the back of a puppet's head?

New Here ,
Dec 11, 2021 Dec 11, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello,

I am new at both Character Animator and Photoshop.  I have a character with long hair and cannot figure out how to properly animate it for just a standard frontal view of the character.  If I put the hair in the body folder in Photoshop, it doesn't move with the head.  If I put it in the head folder, it is layered overtop the neck and chest.

I have read that there is an achor tool that can fix this, but I can't find any tutorials or documentation on how to do it.  Could you please direct me on what to do?

Best,

Cyndi

TOPICS
FAQ , How to , Puppet movement , Rigging

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 2 Correct answers

LEGEND , Dec 11, 2021 Dec 11, 2021

Its actually a fairly well known problem. If the head is independent, you need it in front of body but hair needs to be behind body. That means the hair cannot be inside the head for attachment. Yes, its a pain and I don't recall a good solution (search forums for "rear hair group" and you might find some other discussion threads).

If you can live with the head NOT being independent, then just put the Body layer above Head in the hierarchy, then you can put the Hair inside Head but make it indep

Votes

Translate

Translate
LEGEND , Dec 16, 2021 Dec 16, 2021