Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Puppet distortion

New Here ,
Apr 13, 2019 Apr 13, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi all,

I'm very new to Character Animator and have attempted to make my own puppet.  I made my puppet in Photoshop and then exported it to Animator.  I'm running into an issue where when I try to record, the face of my puppet becomes extremely distorted.  Does anyone know what is causing this?  I haven't even gotten to moving body parts other than the face and am already discouraged.  As far as I can tell, all the tags are in the correct positions.  And the layer hierarchy should be correct as I used the Adobe Chloe puppet as a guide on how to organize my layers.  I am grateful for any help or advice.  Thanks in advance.  Again, I'm a newbie...so be gentle. Ha ha.

I've attached images to show what's happening.  The first image (in white) is what the puppet should look like.  The other images are what's happening when I try to record.

Screen Shot 2019-04-13 at 12.06.33 PM.png

Screen Shot 2019-04-13 at 11.56.20 AM.pngScreen Shot 2019-04-13 at 11.56.59 AM.png

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi! There are a few gotchas but normally once you have you first puppet going the second is much easier.

could you provide a screen shot of the rigging panel? What you see is normally due to a tag on a wrong layer. Each layer is controlled by something. If two behaviors try to control something problems occur (for non obvious reasons!!)

There is a mesh icon at bottom of scene window. If you turn this on it can help identify what is not moving. Once you find that point, look for a handle at that point and try deleting tags on it to see if you can identify the culprit.

feel free to ask follow up questions!

Votes

Translate

Translate