• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Alternatives to the Creative Cloud

New Here ,
May 07, 2013 May 07, 2013

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

With Adobe's decisions to force users to go to subscribe to the creative cloud, I thought it might be a good idea to get a list going of some alternative programs. I'm a designer working mostly in print with some web - anyone know of some good alternatives for these?

Photoshop -> Gimp

Illustrator -> ?

Indesign - Quark

Dreamweaver - ?

Flash - been moving away from that anyway

What programs are you going to look into to replace the creative cloud?

TOPICS
Creative Cloud

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
replies 330 Replies 330
Explorer ,
Jul 21, 2013 Jul 21, 2013

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

A bit more on the idea that Adobe is the only game in town right now..

I got my first Mac in fall of '92. It was pretty exciting for me, not just having a computer, finally...but all of the software titles there were! We were silly with software possibilities. Many great ones died. Anyone remember Video Spigot?

Yes there was photoshop, but even the raster image category had *scads* of titles, maybe not every one a  heavyweight, but all with their niche, with some nice overlapping of functionality.

One survivor from those days is Painter. At the time, Painter was the only commercial title that was on-par with Photoshop. Still is, IMHO, however Painter's focus is "natural media" art creation.

Painter had layers before photoshop did, and offered many of the same tools, adjustments and whizzy features, plus many that PS even 20 years later lacks.