• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Alternatives to the Creative Cloud

New Here ,
May 07, 2013 May 07, 2013

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

With Adobe's decisions to force users to go to subscribe to the creative cloud, I thought it might be a good idea to get a list going of some alternative programs. I'm a designer working mostly in print with some web - anyone know of some good alternatives for these?

Photoshop -> Gimp

Illustrator -> ?

Indesign - Quark

Dreamweaver - ?

Flash - been moving away from that anyway

What programs are you going to look into to replace the creative cloud?

TOPICS
Creative Cloud

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
replies 330 Replies 330
Mentor ,
Dec 03, 2013 Dec 03, 2013

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Photoline (pl32.com) does CMYK out of the box - actually, you can use Lab, RGB, CMYK, Greyscale @ 8/16/32bpc PER layer in Photoline's layer stack (something Photoshop cannot achieve unless you convert to awkward smart objects). It comes with full colour management. (Costs less than Elements, btw)

So you may have the original RGB version and a CMYK version of a photograph in the same layer stack - no longer do we need to convert the entire file. Or work on a different page, since Photoline support multi-page documents as well.

It also supports true vector objects, rather than merely vector objects that are directly converted to bitmaps. Export to pdf and svg retains the vector shapes and text. Also interesting to note here: you can work in Lab curves no matter the colour mode your layer is in - no image mode switching is required, unlike Photoshop.