• Global community
    • Language:
      • Deutsch
      • English
      • Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit
0

Has anyone had a POP-UP problem? I get a pop-up window that tells me the adobe software I have is not a genuine adobe product.

New Here ,
Feb 04, 2017 Feb 04, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I haven't clicked on "more info" yet. Afraid it's phishing.

Screen Shot 2017-02-04 at 11.41.59 AM.png

Views

41.2K

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Feb 04, 2017 Feb 04, 2017

This is indeed legitimate, although the circumstances and causes of its appearance have been confusing in some cases. You can find more information at this link, including frequently asked questions:

Adobe Genuine software

This could be a result of software that has been tampered or modified, or a licensing issue. In any case, you should try to reach Adobe for help in correcting the issues causing this pop up.

Mike

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Beginner ,
Apr 21, 2017 Apr 21, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Dave thanks for your quick response  I've was out most of yesterday and organizing my gear for a shoot this morning, but here's what I did on the 19th.  I called the 866.493.4991 number in India, sorry I just find it hard to believe that we can not provide these jobs for people in our own country.  I don't appreciate the fact Adobe farmed out it's customer service . . .

Anyway that's a topic for another day.

Here's what happened... basically I was told that I'd be contacted by phone or email within 24 to 48 hours. The customer service agent told me she was "escalating" my case.  So far no contact by email or phone. She gave my a case number which is 0221790779.

One troubling note for me was this . . . I signed on to my account.  And much to my surprise and chagrin the only product that Adobe had listed for my was Adobe Lightroom.  First, I have been buying and using Adobe products from Adobe directly since 1995.  I have always registered my products. But my current version of Photoshop CS6 which I upgraded from CS5 Extended, which I upgraded from Photoshop 4 etc... and there is NO Serial Number listed for my CS6. And no mention that I have the product which I purchased directly from Adobe some at least 3 years ago and registered on the same day as I downloaded it.  It was the upgrade from CS5 extended.  I recall in visits past to Adobe's site all my products were listed there.  Now as I said only the Lightroom 6 exists.  Is there some reason for that?

Regards,

David

Votes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe Employee ,
Apr 21, 2017 Apr 21, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi David1249,

Are you still getting the pop-ups? I read through the case notes of 0221790779. I do see that the case was escalated and setup for a callback. The notes said they tried but were unsuccessful, so left a vm. I can arrange something from my side if you're still having difficulties?

Hi DLSBFD,

Thanks for the udpate.

Best,

- Dave

Votes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,
Apr 30, 2017 Apr 30, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am having this same issue with Dreamweaver CS5.  I am not having the issue with other CS 5.5 products.  I tried the chat, but I couldn't get through to anyone.

Can someone contact me to get this resolved?

Votes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe Employee ,
May 01, 2017 May 01, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi Aross99,

I'll make arrangements for someone to contact you.

Thanks,

- Dave

Votes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,
May 01, 2017 May 01, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Thanks for your help.

I am not sure what is causing this issue, but it seems to have something to go with having the older CS5/5.1 or CS5.5 apps.

The error that I am getting is on Dreamweaver CS 5.  The ID in the display is 39ZQVMB13V.  I have tried reinstalling directly from the Adobe CD and the error keeps coming back.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,
Jun 25, 2017 Jun 25, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I also am having this problem on a MacBook Pro running 10.12.5. I have been a loyal user for many, many years, and it is very irksome to have my CS5 Creative Suite applications (other than Acrobat) present his message and then close the program.

Please have someone contact me as well. There must be a workaround to this problem.

Mikail

Votes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe Employee ,
Jun 26, 2017 Jun 26, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi Terry,

Sorry to hear about your difficulties. I looked at your account his and it looks like support was trying to help but having difficulties contacting you back after you had contacted them initially. It looked like the issue may have been related to products you were upgrading from versus the installed products themselves. Based on the case notes, it looked like the issue should be resolved now. If this is not correct please post back and I'll see what I can do to help.

Hi Mikail,

Sorry to hear about difficulties. I'll request someone contact you but could you also try to contact us as well.

This is a helpful resource with more information about the pop-ups and why they occur https://helpx.adobe.com/genuine/faq.html

There is a Contact Us option at the bottom of that page. If you sign in with the email address which the software registered under and select Account issues it should route you to Adobe customer service personnel which would be able to help.

Best,

Dave

Votes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Beginner ,
Apr 21, 2017 Apr 21, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

This seems to be fixed now.  It started for me on April 19th.  I have not seen it today.  I am keeping my fingers crossed.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,
May 19, 2017 May 19, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Got hit by this pop up yesterday and it refuses to go away now (it keeps popping up every 10 minutes). Moreover, I never had problems with my CS6 since I first bought it back in 2014 and having it cropping up NOW is beyond infuriating.  I do not plan on using CC for programs I already have (that being Illustrator CS6 and Photoshop CS5) because I cannot afford a monthly payment plan and Graphic Design Commissions are too far and few between (not to mention spotty internet). Please have someone fix this, cause this debacle is causing my patience to wane......and no, buying CC is NOT a valid fix.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,
May 20, 2017 May 20, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

If you are on Windows you could try turning off (disabling) the Adobe Genuine Software Integrity Service. Services can be found under Control Panel/Administrative Tools

GSIS.png

I mentioned this to another OP with this problem , not really expecting it to work, but apparently it did. Unfortunately as I'm on Creative Cloud I cannot verify whether it does universally or not as I don't get the popups. For Mac users, I'm sure there must be a way of accessing services, but as a PC person I can't tell you how to get to those settings. 

Votes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe Employee ,
May 22, 2017 May 22, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

This is a helpful resource with more information about the pop-ups and why they occur https://helpx.adobe.com/genuine/faq.html

There is a Contact Us option at the bottom of that page. If you sign in with the email address which the software registered under and select Account issues it should route you to Adobe customer service personnel which would be able to help. Alternatively, I can make arrangements for someone to contact you if needed.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,
May 27, 2017 May 27, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I've had this same problem with Adobe Acrobat X Pro, and CS5.5 and CS 6, since April.  I purchased all my adobe products from Adobe.com and they're all registered and activated on the Adobe website.  I disabled the Adobe Genuine Software Integrity Service, reloaded, rebooted, re installed, started from scratch with a clean install of Windows 7 Pro and changed the hard drive and still have the same problem.  I've talked to Tech Support from Adobe, been on the Chat and even let the tech support guy take over my computer last week remotely and uninstall and re install Acrobat X Pro.  I've keep all the Adobe Case emails so I could keep track of Adobe's service. 

Here's what happened just today.  I was using Acrobat X Pro and the pop us comes up and says, " This copy of Acrobat is not genuine Adobe software".  If you go to the link on the message it takes you to Creative Cloud and asks what program you interested in.   So I went on the chat support again and explained the problem and even gave the case number of all my correspondence.  This time the Support Specialist sends back a chat that says Adobe no longer supports this product and then disconnected me.  I have to say that reading all the above correspondence above doesn't give me any confidence that Adobe can or want's to fix this problem.  Seems to be it would be an easy fix that would satisfy all the legitimate owners of this product.

Maybe you have a solution that can help with this product?

Votes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,
Nov 17, 2020 Nov 17, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

LATEST

Acrobat and the other CS6 programs have entered a trial period which has now expired. Before that CS6 was bought by me and installed on the Windows 10 computer since years. Now suddenly the serial number with my ID doesn't work anymore. I have checked my account, which confirms that the serial number is correct and has been purchased from me. What can I do now?

 

I have also deactivated and activated all necessary services and when I enter the serial number the first document works... then it switches to the trial period, which has expired.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Beginner ,
Jun 01, 2018 Jun 01, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

More than a year after most of these posts were made, I had the same problem with Premiere Pro CS6.  The nagging screen that it wasn't a legit copy.  So I reinstalled and got a window that it wasn't a legit copy.  Funny, it worked fine for more than two years.

Yes, I bought this from EBAY but I'm convinced it's a legit copy.  I spent an hour and five minutes talking to three Adobe reps, all

apparently from India (I assume).  At least the english got better with each person but it was a waste of time.  I just think Adobe wants to

drive business to the subscription service.

Paul Bottoms

Votes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,
Jun 01, 2018 Jun 01, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Sorry for your problem Paul but unfortunately you are one more victim of pirates selling on Ebay. Don't get like Donald Trump seeing conspiracy theories everywhere, all that has happened is Adobe has introduced a validation service which has detected a file on your computer has been modified by someone other than Adobe and now has flagged the software as counterfeit. It's not unusual to be able to use pirated Adobe software for several years trouble free but once discovered that's it the software is unusable. Look on the bright side, you got Premiere for a fraction of the retail price and two years out of it before getting caught.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Beginner ,
Jun 01, 2018 Jun 01, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Terris,

How do YOU know it's pirated? So I had an even older version of Premiere, CS4, (yes I bought it on EBAY and used it trouble free for about two years with no problems).  This came on the original disc rather than a download program and I got the same message---that it isn't valid.

If this Adobe software is so great, why does it take years to find a "pirated" program?  Or is it like their software that told me last night that someone would be with me in an estimated 13 minutes when it really took 26 minutes?  I think the same guy may have developed both those programs. Or the same company  who hires people who can barely speak english and just repeats talking points?

Look, I don't have anything to fight them with and I'll continue to use the other seven Adobe software programs I bought until Adobe suddenly sends me a message that they're pirated.  I think that Adobe, maybe influenced by the greed of Donald Trump, found a way to add to its' billion dollar bottom line simply by sending people messages that the program they paid good money for is not the real thing.

I'm not going to buy anything from them.  And if you ask me, if anybody is acting like pirates here, it's Adobe.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,
Jun 03, 2018 Jun 03, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi Paul, here's the scoop:

1. Very slowly and carefully over the past few years, Adobe has been more broadly rolling out their Genuine Software Integrity Service to more and different products and geographies... Meaning, something that previously 'worked' before the service was activated for your particular product and region may no longer do so.

2. It is very well-known that eBay is a den of pirates, and anything offered there should absolutely not be trusted – for many reasons... The insinuation that a Fortune 500 company like Adobe is somehow acting to illegally revoke actual genuine licenses from customers really has no place in these Forums.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,
Nov 01, 2018 Nov 01, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi Paul,

Halloween was the first day that the pop-up started appearing. I was very leery of what it was asking me to do, because just last week I had to spend a fair amount of a day removing a bit of malware from my wife's MacBook Pro - and the vector was "update your Adobe Acrobat Browser".

In any case I noticed that the serial numbers were correct, but interestingly, some of the CS6 items said they were legit, and other items with the same serial number said they were tampered with.

I did make the call, and after an awkward and cautious back and forth, I found the representative in India to be very professional and helpful. I don't know how many calls you get from around the world saying they are from the IRS or Microsoft - but I get a lot of them!

The good thing for me was that I kept the email receipt direct from Adobe for the purchase (licensing) of the software.  On that receipt included not only the license number but the receipt number that the Adobe rep used to verify my authenticity.

He said that he was going to escalate the case and should allow 48-72 hours for someone to get back to me.

I am not a fan of pirates - at all. But, I am not a fan of companies sprinkling nastygrams on my computer screen every 15 minutes when I am a bonafide purchaser of the software.

Adobe is actually quite excellent of recording all of your purchases in your account.  If they are able to discern license numbers that are reused, they ought to be able to tell install dates, and other data points that would reveal the legitimacy of the user.

In any case.  I love Adobe.  Sad that they have gone to Creative Cloud from Creative Suite. I suspect that with he next iteration of MacOS, CS will not function - that may be as soon as a year from now...

Thank you, and have a great day.

73

Jim, W6LK

Votes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,
Aug 10, 2018 Aug 10, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm having the same trouble and I can't even contact Customer Services. The, 'One moment while we gather your account information' has been doing so for over 40mins now and I can't get any further.

Adobe PLEASE FIX THIS NOW.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,
Feb 16, 2020 Feb 16, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I own these adobe products they came with my mac as full versions (not trials). I get a popup every 30 minutes (approx)when i am on a search engine. I am not happy it is completely ridiculious whoever made this popup issue is unaware of the laws. I understand this pop up is adobe's way of making sales, however, to have a popup when i am not using the software is illegal, intrusive, distracting, highly frustrating. Adobe has no legal right to message me when i am not in an adobe application. Especially when i am paying other companies for time on their website. I should not hear from adobe other than when i am in the software or by email period.

This is my computer on my internet service you are using to harrass me and invoke payment when none is due, furthermore, to distract me and popup when i am on other sites which i pay for is a violation of my privacy and completely unethical. 

[Abuse and caps removed by a moderator]

Votes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,
Feb 16, 2020 Feb 16, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

"I get a popup every 30 MINUTES (APPROX)when I am on a search engine."

Then your computer / browser is infected with malware.  Nothing  to do with Adobe.   I recommend you scan your HD for trojans and spyware and/or take it in to Apple for a full diagnostic.

 

Nancy O'Shea— Product User, Community Expert & Moderator
Alt-Web Design & Publishing ~ Web : Print : Graphics : Media

Votes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines