• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Art Board Wrong Size - Created by Using the Art Board Tool on a Rectangle.

Community Beginner ,
Nov 03, 2021 Nov 03, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

So I'm a graphic designer for a sign company, and we use Illustrator to draw all the sign types to scale with labeled spec's and dimension lines. So I like to have all of my art boards reprented by a Letter size page (8.5"h x 11"w). So I create a box that  is that size, use the Art Board tool to create a new artboard by clicking on the rectangle. This has always given me the proper size Art Board lined up exactly under my rectangle. 

Lately this has not been working correctly, and I can't figure out why. In CC 2019, it shows both the Art Board and the Rectangle as the proper size, but they aren't lining up correctly at all. So I think that Illustrator isn't labeling the Art Board at the size it actually is. I tested this in CC 2021 and it is creating a n artboard slightly larger than the rectangle (8.5139"h x 11.0139"w). 

I don't have align to pixel grid turned on and I don't have pixel preview turned on. It looks like it's creating the Art Board based on the outside edge of the stroke. There are no settings in the Art Board tool to avoid this. Anybody have any ideas what setting might be causing this?

TOPICS
Draw and design , Tools

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 2 Correct answers

Community Expert , Nov 03, 2021 Nov 03, 2021

@Stage5 wrote:

It looks like it's creating the Art Board based on the outside edge of the stroke.

It is.

Try a rectangle with no stroke.

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert , Nov 03, 2021 Nov 03, 2021