• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

converting cartoon characters to vector (getting straight lines)

Enthusiast ,
Feb 07, 2023 Feb 07, 2023

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

im fairly new to illustrator,  im trying to convert some cartoon characters that i drew (in clip studio paint)

into vector format for animation in after effects. but when i image trace it, the lines come out kinda wobbly, with too many vertices

the original drawings had a line that was same thickness all around , so that it would be smooth and that they would animate well

is there any tool that can make this process quick and painless in illustrator?  

in clip studio you have a "simplify line" tool that you can just pass over the line at whatever chosen strength, and it will remove unnecessary vertices and the line will become a lot straighter.  is there any equivalent to this in illustrator?  or a setting that i can get it to recognise that there is a black line there, and it needs to make it straight as possible.Policeman Body test.jpg

TOPICS
Draw and design

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 2 Correct answers

Community Expert , Feb 07, 2023 Feb 07, 2023

You can try the pencil tool in Illustrator if you want to draw freehand strokes.

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert , Feb 07, 2023 Feb 07, 2023

If you can create good vector lines in CSP, you could try Live Paint in Illustrator for the fills.

https://helpx.adobe.com/illustrator/using/live-paint-groups.html

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

You will have an easier time redrawing this in Illustrator than getting a usable file for animation from an image trace.

Votes