Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Creating Partially Hollow Shape

New Here ,
Jun 23, 2019 Jun 23, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello,

I'm fairly new to Illustrator, and I'm currently trying to make a shape that is partially hollow/distressed. I've gotten as far as making the shape that I want to apply this effect to, however I'm clueless as to where I should start in making this effect. I'm trying to make it so it still has a solid outline/border while the inside is hollow/distressed. Hoping for the end result to look something like this:

Profile Pic.png

If anyone knows how to accomplish this, I would greatly appreciate any assistance you could give me. Thanks!

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
Community Expert ,
Jun 24, 2019 Jun 24, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am assuming this is vectors.If so then you probably have a path for the outside of Jessica’s key (nerd!) and one for the inside. Copy those paths, or create them if this is a raster image. With both paths selected, and nothing else. go to Object > Compound Path > Make.

Screen Shot 2019-06-24 at 12.35.03 AM.png

You now have the basic outline of your ankh with a hollow centre. You could fill this with black and place it behind the rest of the illustrator and you'll probably be done. If the ankh is a raster image and not vectors you have a little more work to do.

Screen Shot 2019-06-24 at 12.35.20 AM.png

Position the ankh outline with the image. Make sure the outline is on top. Now select the outline and the image and go to Object > Clipping Path > Make. The image is now clipped by the ankh outline. Turn on the transparency grid (View > Show Transparency Grid) so see what is transparent.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines