• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Get color from image

New Here ,
Dec 27, 2010 Dec 27, 2010

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hey people, I'm new to Illustrator and have a question. I want to use a color from an image that I put into Illustrator.

The exact things I did with the image are the following: copied it from Windows Photo Viewer into Illustrator, then put the 'cut out' effect on it, then copied it into a new Illustrator document that has a businesscard template and resized it fit the template's margins. Now I want to kind of 'enlengthen' the image by putting a square next to it. To make it look smooth, it has to have the same color as that side of the image of course. But that's my problem, I'm not able to select the color from the image and make a new color group with that specific color. The 'get color from selected artwork' button doensn't help much since I can't click it, for some reason the mouse turns into this 'can't click here' icon every time I move it on this button.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

PS apologies for any unavoidable noobness

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
LEGEND ,
Dec 27, 2010 Dec 27, 2010

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Make sure the fill color of the color proxy in the tool panel is in front then

with the eyedropper tool click on the image you placed at the exact region of the image where the color you want resides.

from the color panels flyout select create new swatch

repeat as needed.

Make your color group from the newly made swatches

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,
Dec 28, 2010 Dec 28, 2010

Copy link to clipboard

Copied