• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How to get rid of box outline on a placed image in Illustrator

Community Beginner ,
Jul 10, 2017 Jul 10, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello and thank you for your time.  I am a student graphic designer and I am practicing using Illustrator.  I had a question about placing images and vectorizing/image tracing them.  It seems like with a placed image I always get a box around the image that becomes an outline when I image trace it that I can't get rid of.  So when I make changes to the stroke of the placed image, the "box" our "outline" also changes the same way.  How would i get rid of the box or outline around a placed image?

Thank you so much for your time!  Take care.

Meredith

TOPICS
Tools

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 3 Correct answers

Community Expert , Jul 10, 2017 Jul 10, 2017

You can select the box with the Group Selection tool (white arrow with a + next to it). Be careful to click on the edge of the box, when making the selection. Then you can delete.

If the background of the image you are tracing is white, and there is no white that you want to keep within the image, you can expand the Advanced section of the Image Trace panel and choose Ignore White.

Votes

Translate

Translate
New Here , Nov 06, 2021 Nov 06, 2021

I'm also a graphic design student who also had exactly this problem.  I had placed a linked image (not an embedded image) into my Ai doc, so the solution to expand the image didn't work because linked images cannot be converted into objects.