• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Is there a way to use middle mouse button to move around ?

New Here ,
Nov 21, 2018 Nov 21, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I used Gimp a lot (yeah I know it's not the same at all but it was enough before) but now I need a more specialized and powerful software to do various designs. I am currently learning with a few amazing tutorials, so I'm a beginner making progress, Illustrator is quite amazing but there's one thing that bothers me a lot..

When using gimp I could use the middle mouse button to move around the image (I ended up binding it on a side button of my mouse, more convenient) it was extremely useful it allowed me to move around very quickly and easily. But I can't find a way to do the same on illustrator..

The closest way I found was hitting "H" on the keyboard, move around and then go back manually to the tool I was using before, it is quite annoying.. Before I just had to hold the mouse button and drag to move around without changing the tool I'm using..

I know it's nothing too serious but I got used to zooming and moving around quickly and now it makes me feel a bit "stuck"

Is there a way to change this ?

Thanks for your help !

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Nov 21, 2018 Nov 21, 2018

The modifier for this in Illustrator is the spacebar, and as far as I know it can't be changed within Illustrator.

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

The modifier for this in Illustrator is the spacebar, and as far as I know it can't be changed within Illustrator.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines