Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Keyboard shortcut for all caps?

Participant ,
Nov 18, 2021 Nov 18, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi all,

I'm fairly new to Illustrator and am making maps with tons of small caps text, and I can't find a way to apply a keyboard shortcut for them. I know how to apply keyboard shortcuts for Title Case, ALL CAPS, Sentence case, etc., but I don't see anything for small caps. I read somewhere online that "Command+Shift+H" is the shortcut for small caps on a Mac (I use a PC, so I tried Alt-Shift+H), but that didn't work. Any other ideas?

On a related note, I often find that when I use the Type on a Path tool and then try to edit the text later (to apply small caps, for instance), I can't select the first letter. For example, in Glendale Road, it selects "lendale Road." This happens a lot. I've attached a screenshot. Any ideas for how to prevent this?

Many thanks!

Bill

TOPICS
Type

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Nov 20, 2021 Nov 20, 2021

Here you can download an action that applies small caps without changing the original text attributes:

Small Caps maker

After importing it into the Actions palette you can assign a shortcut to the action.

Note that setting up the action required some manual editing in the .aia file which cannot be done with the normal Illustrator UI.

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

For the small caps thing, I'd make a Paragraph Style that just applies small caps.

Next time you select type on a path, try triple-clicking it to select all.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more