• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Newbie--can't remove the rectangle in the middle of my image.

Aug 05, 2013 Aug 05, 2013

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Yes, I'm new to Illustrator. Every time I open up a previously made image, usually a jpg of an illustration I did by hand, there is an outline of a rectangle right in the middle of my image. I have no doubt I put it there while doing something else. But, now it shows up in all the images I open in Illustrator. Does anyone know what I might have done to create this, and better yet, how I can get rid of it? I'm using Illustrator CS4.

Thanks.

Ron

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Aug 05, 2013 Aug 05, 2013

You can't get rid of it; it's the boundries of the "virtual paper" you are working on. You can make it larger with the artboard tool, or you can shrink your artwork down to fit it.

If place is greyed out, chances are that you have a locked layer selected.

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Are you perhaps just talking about the artboard boundaries?

If that does not apply, can you show a screenshot?

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I can't be sure without a screenshot, but it sounds like your image is larger than the artboard, and that's the outline of the artboard you are seeing.