Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

script to add a line to a placed pdf in illustrator

New Here ,
Mar 25, 2022 Mar 25, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello - I am still learning scripting.

I have a document that has small, placed pdfs and I want to be able to select the small pdf (it's about 1 x 2 inches, rectangle) and have a script add a leader line to the placed pdf. Imagine a comment box with a line and arrow head. Best if I could add lines to multiple placed pdfs at the same time. 

Even better, if I could customize the location of the line depending on where the placed pdf is located on the page. For instance, if I have a placed pdf on the left, I'd want the line to come out of the pdf on the right side, middle of the rectangle.

Is there any scripts out there that could do something like this? 

thanks in advance.

TOPICS
Scripting

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Are the .pdf files embedded or are they linked files?

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Great question! They are linked. It's prefered that they stay linked, but is there a difference in the script if they are not?

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

It's not a scripting approach. It's a graphic style way.

Leader Line Styles 1

Instruction:

- Download and unzip the file.

- Open a document that contains some linked .pdf files.

- In the Graphic Styles palette flyout menu, choose Open Graphic Styles library > Other Library and take the .ai file you have downloaded.