• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Shape around letter

Community Beginner ,
Jul 24, 2018 Jul 24, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am new to Illustrator and have used the pen tool and width tool to create a shape (shown below).  I would like to top of the shape to follow the letter A at the top but cannot find the best way to accomplish this.  I have used pathfinder in the past to exclude areas but that does not seem to be the solution when one item is text.

Any help or suggestions would be appreciated.

AI_Example1.png

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Enthusiast , Jul 25, 2018 Jul 25, 2018

I think I see- The shape you are trying to cut- the hook shaped thingy- that also needs to be expanded. It needs to be a solid object for the filter to work

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Outline both the text and the stroke and then you can connect them.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Beginner ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I created outlines on both, overlapped them and then used pathfinder divide.  Below is the result which is OK but not exact and now the edges of the shape look rough.

Is this what you meant for me to do?

AI_Example2.png

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

The edges of the shapes are only important when you convert the artwork to pixels (and in that case you cannot prevent the "roughness")

So your issue is this?

AI_Example2.png

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines