• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Shear objects: where's angled axis and how to understand coordinates?

Explorer ,
Nov 19, 2018 Nov 19, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm a beginner: please, help me to understand how to interpret coordinates so that I could rely on calculated values and not just on visual guidance.

I have an object I'm applying shearing to.

Object--Transformation preview.

Position 1, pic 1: axis angle - 30Ëš, slant - 45Ëš

Pos1.png

Position 2, pic 2: axis angle - 19Ëš, slant - 31Ëš. All values are arbitrary, just for the demonstration purpose.

Pos2.png

Info panel. Using shear tool

Position 2 transformed into position 3. Position 3, pic 3: axis angle - 180Ëš, slant - -115,423Ëš (negative)

Pos3.png

My questions:

#1 Where exactly does the axis cross the object at an angle?

#2 Do the slant and axis angle value changes imply 3D rotation?

#3 Position 3

Regarding usage of the shear tool. What points on the object and what movement do the values in Info panel correspond to exactly?

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

It might help if you visit the Help page on scaling/shearing How to scale, shear, and distort objects in Illustrator

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Explorer ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied