• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Text Boxes - following the angle of the box, not the horizontal?

New Here ,
Jan 16, 2018 Jan 16, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi. I am new to Illustrator - and need some help.

I am making a Year Book, and I want the text boxes to sit at different angles. At the moment I can rotate the angle of the text box, but the text remains perfectly horizontal. I would like the text to follow the angle of the box.

How do I do this?

Thank you in advance for your advice!

Suzie

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Mentor , Jan 17, 2018 Jan 17, 2018

Make your text box by dragging with the text tool. The way you're doing it now, you're telling Illustrator you want horizontal text to conform to the selected shape, which happens to be a rectangle. If you then turn that shape into a diagonally slanted rectangle, the horizontal text will obediently conform to a diagonally slanted rectangle.

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Suzanne,

Are you using the Area Type Tool so the text adapts to/fits within the box, or just the Type Tool with a separate box round it? In the former case, everything should rotate together, in the latter case you can Group text and box (select both and Ctrl/Cmd+G).

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied