• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Unable to change shapes

Engaged ,
Aug 09, 2017 Aug 09, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

When using the pen tool, I am unable to change shapes after I create them. For example, I'm trying to create a half circle. I would think this would be a relatively simple process but the logic eludes me.  I can move the circle shape and resize it but I cannot alter the shape. I saw a few tutorials that suggest I can alter shapes but I'm not sure if these are relevant or applicable to shapes created by the pen tool. Instead, I'm creating special shapes using the brush tool, which is a bit tedious.

I'm still learning Illustrator but is there a way to changes shapes created by the pen tool? If not, is there another plug-in tool I can use?  Or should I just not use the pen to create special shapes (like half circles) and use the brush instead?

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

You can change a shape made with the pen tool using the Convert to Shape option under the Effect menu.

CHANGE SHAPE.png

In the screen shot above the blue shape is the shape I drew with the pen tool. The black outer ring is the shape that it will be turned into. The two pictures of the Shape Options dialog show the default settings on the left which adds 18 puts of extra width and height. This amount can be reduced or enlarged either proportionally or disproportionally to create a custom shape. The picture on the right shows the three different types of shapes that the original can be turned into. If you want to edit the finished shapes you can Expand their Appearance under the Object Menu.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines