• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Why can't I select all of the text in AI that's probably not text?

Enthusiast ,
Jan 06, 2022 Jan 06, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'll admit I'm not good with AI though I know you can do amazing stuff with it. I'll often have to download AI or EPS files from stock. Often times the designer will use some palceholder text. Sometimes with the text tool and sometimes they do something else for the placeholder.

I have no idea what they do but I have to delete all of this placeholder. I can't just select it so I have to spend an enormous amount of time with the selection (A) tool, highlighting each freaking piece of each letter to delete it until all of the text is gone.

I don't understand why these designers do this if all they're doing is showing an example of where you can put text. Like I said, why not just draw a box with the text tool and put some dummy text there. It'd be easier where you could just select the box and delete.

But for this forum, question, does anyone have any idea how I can get rid of this text much quicker than having to select each letter?

TOPICS
Tools , Type

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Enthusiast , Jan 06, 2022 Jan 06, 2022

Thank you. I asked a co-worker as I try not to bother her. She's a whiz at AI. I sent her the file and she told me everything was a clipping mask and all she had to do was release the clipping mask and that released everything.

Myra - I appreciate you're helping me 🙂

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied