Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Why can't I use Live Paint?

New Here ,
Oct 07, 2013 Oct 07, 2013

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

I'm fairly new to Illustrator, but for a project I'm working on I've drawn a dragon using the pen tool. Now I want to use the live paint tool, however, after I select my dragon it won't let me "make" the live paint. I also can't expand, not sure if that's related.

I tested another simple drawing and was able to both expand and use live paint, so it must be something weird that I've done to my dragon.

I have a trial version of CS6.

Also attaching a screen cap.

Live paint problem.jpg
Thanks for any help/advice!!!

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
LEGEND ,
Oct 07, 2013 Oct 07, 2013

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Your drawing is a blody mess. Stray points/ segments, self intersecting paths and all the ingredients that make for a "bad" vector artwork. You need to spend time cleaning it up.

Mylenium

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,
Oct 08, 2013 Oct 08, 2013

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Oh okay, thanks! As I said fairly new to illustrator.
I see the stray points...Do you mind pointing out one of the problem areas? What is a self intersecting path...?

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Luci,

What is a self intersecting path...?

8 is 1 (one).

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

While all this stuff

Stray points/ segments, self intersecting paths and all the ingredients that make for a "bad" vector artwork