• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Bilingual book design

Community Beginner ,
Nov 27, 2023 Nov 27, 2023

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello, I am fairly new to InDesin but trying to make a bilingual book. I wonder if there is a way to add A language text on the left-sided pages and B language text on the right-sided pages. Like importing all of the A language text to the left-sided pages and vice versa. Does what I am trying to do make sense? Thank you!!

TOPICS
How to , Import and export

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Yes, it's not too uncommon to have such a need and layout, if not for two languages, then for text with facing commentary.

The short answer is that you use two separate text flows, one on right-hand (recto) pages and one on left-hand (verso) pages.

The longer answer, for setup, is to create a new file (just to make sure you don't drag any existing/conflicting setup info into it)...

• Create one facing page Parent spread. Do NOT set a Primary Text Frame:

JamesGiffordNitroPress_1-1701116986551.png

• Open the Parent pages and on that spread, put a text frame on each page.
  • In document pages, create a second (verso) page.
    • ETA: You could also just set "2" pages in the menu above. Missed that.
  • With the Text tool selected, Ctrl-Shift-click on each of those pages. A Parent page frame will be added to each, but with separate text flows.
  • Place one content file on the first (recto) page, and Place the other content file on the second (verso) page.

That should flow out to fill all the needed pages, with one content flow on each page.

From there, you'll have to figure out the formatting to match up content, probably by using selective page breaks in one flow or the other.