• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Can only change the font on default text in InD template, not content

New Here ,
Oct 01, 2023 Oct 01, 2023

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

So I've seen a couple posts on GDSE regarding this, but none have functional answers. I'm rebuilding my resume and went to change the "YOUR NAME"/"PROFESSION"/"JOB TITLE" text but it wouldn't even let me select it. Neither the layer nor the page is locked/contains any locked items, I tested this by locking other items on the document and then unlocking "all on spread". I'm new to InDesign (brace yourselves: I usually do this in Illustrator), so I don't know what else to check. Thanks in advance for the help.

TOPICS
How to , Type

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Oct 01, 2023 Oct 01, 2023

You might want to check your parent page to see if the "YOUR NAME" / "PROFESSION" / "JOB TITLE" text is there.

If it's a parent page element, changing it there would put the same information on every page of your document using that parent page. If you want to make a single exception, get your Text tool, move to the text and press the Control+Shift keys (on a Windows system) or the Command+Shift keys (on a Mac) and click on the text to lift the element off the parent page and place your cursor

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,
Oct 01, 2023 Oct 01, 2023

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

You might want to check your parent page to see if the "YOUR NAME" / "PROFESSION" / "JOB TITLE" text is there.