• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Can someone explain what Document Setup does? And Adjust Layout?

Participant ,
Apr 26, 2021 Apr 26, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am new to InDesign, so always glad to to be pointed to documentation.

But I have been tearing my hair out with the frankly unintuituve and opaque settings for InDesign.

And I can't seem to find an actual manual online, just the cursory pages in what they call their User Guide online.

The thing that has made me so fustrated is that Document Setup sometimes will make changes to the margins of the document, sometimes it won't. Only Margins and Columns... seems to actually consistently make the changes.

The Document Setup problem seems to be related to if a Master page is being used. I came across this problem from a template I downloaded.

https://www.behance.net/gallery/47457925/Free-minimalistic-portfolio-26-pages

When you open it up, then Document Setup... stops having any effect. As does the Margin settings in Adjust Layout.

Why are there 3 different places to change the margins?

Why do two of those (Document Setup and Adjust Layout) have no effect at times. 

I thought at first that maybe Document Setup only affected the Master pages. But no. It has no effect on those either.

Its entirely possible theres a seting somewhere that's preventing Document Setup from having any effect.

But I can't find it. And searching in the help files has nothing useful. There is passing mention of Document Setup but not much at all.

Thank you for any insight, or webpages you may have.

Cheers

TOPICS
InCopy workflow

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Votes