Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Can't Get Workspace Back

New Here ,
Oct 24, 2021 Oct 24, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello,

I'm FAR from an expert using InDesign, and mostly use it once yearly for a journal I publish.

I created a workspace last year, and when opening the document this year to start a new version, the workspace was "detached" from the main window such that when I minimized the InDesign window on my iMac computer desktop, the workspace stayed on the desktop. The only option in the workspace window was an "x" in the upper left corner. I couldn't find a way to "attach" it to the window of the document I was working in and had minimized. I eventually clicked the "x" and now I cannot find a way to make it show up again. 

When I go to Window>Workspace, the correct workspace is checked, the one I had created, but it's not showing in the right of the window as I've wanted. I've tried restarting the program and it still won't show up. If I click other workspaces such as [essentials] or [typography] they show up, but my workspace wont. Any thoughts?

(Apologies, as I believe this may have posted twice under my other account mistakenly, and I can't seem to delete it.)

TOPICS
Bug

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Oct 24, 2021 Oct 24, 2021

No harm, no foul.

You can change/alter/mess up your workspace from it's saved custom setting and the custom setting label will still show it's the same in your InDesign document window.

Let's say your custom workspace is named FRED. Just go to the Window>Workspace menu command, and when the secondary menu opens, select the Reset FRED command near the bottom of the secondary pull-down menu.