Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Can't select objects or edit text on newly inserted page

Community Beginner ,
Aug 06, 2012 Aug 06, 2012

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello -

I'm very new to InDesign and have some beginner-level experience with other Adobe products (Illustrator and Photoshop). I am using this annual report template to create a document. I can load the file in CS6 and edit existing text with no issues. However, when I add additional pages by going to Layout -> Pages -> Insert Pages, all of the text and objects on the newly inserted page are locked and I can't edit anything. The "unlock all on spread" option under "Objects" is grayed out, I changed my general preferences to allow selection of locked objects, I checked to make sure none of the layers are locked, and I don't see an unlock icon anywhere when I hover over the upper left of any individual text box (all solutions I found in other threads when I googled this).

Not sure if maybe this is just a limitation of working with a template (in general or specifically this one), that they don't actually let you add new pages and you have to work with the existing ones? Any pointers (in amateur-speak) would be appreciated.

TOPICS
How to

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Aug 07, 2012 Aug 07, 2012

Master pages that are based on other masters will have a letter icon on them to indicate the master they're based on, just like document pages.

Master objects can be overridden on the document page by holding the Cmd (Mac) or Ctrl (Windows) + Shift keys and clicking on them with the selection tool.

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Beginner ,
Aug 07, 2012 Aug 07, 2012

Copy link to clipboard

Copied