• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Change color globally in document

Community Beginner ,
Feb 21, 2020 Feb 21, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi! I'm new to InDesign and i am making a poster to be printed. 

I want my black colour to be set as my custom profile which i have named "rich black". I want strokes, fill, text to use my rich black instead of the preinstalled "black" that is in indesign. When I make tables as well i want all the lines and the text to by default to be my own custom black.

Is there a way to do this? Is there a way to search for all objects including fill, stroke, text, tables for black and change it to my custom "rich black"?

Thanks for the help!

TOPICS
How to , Print

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 4 Correct answers

Community Expert , Feb 21, 2020 Feb 21, 2020

It's not advisable to use Rich black as you describe – too much ink!

Regarding selecting a colour to use on text and objects, use Styles – such as Paragraph, Character and Object Styles.

Votes

Translate

Translate
Guide , Feb 21, 2020 Feb 21, 2020

You might also have registration issues on thin lines and type when using 4C black for offset printing. You might consider using a spot color black. If you are printing digital, check with your printer for suggestions.

You can also use Edit> Find/Change> Object> Fill, Stroke to find and change your existing colors.

Votes

Translate

Translate

I concur with Derek. While as a concept printing in rich black seems like a good thing, in practice it can introduce as many issues as it seems to solve.