• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Changes to Parent no longer show in pages.

Participant ,
Aug 05, 2022 Aug 05, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

First off, I am VERY new to InDesign, I had never even heard of it a week ago.

I have a 15 page document, the pages are grouped under four Child Parents, which are in turn under a single A-Parent.

At some point yesterday, new objects created in any of the parents stopped displaying in any pages. Any previously existing elements in the parent can be edited, and those edits display as normal. This happns with items inserted into the A-Parent and the Child Parents alike.

This seemed to start after I inserted a frame into a Child Parent. After inserting the frame into the parent, it only displayed on one of the two pages under that parent, and from the page the frame did display on, I was able to edit and delete that frame from the page, even though that frame was in the parent, and none of the changes I made to the frame from the page displayed in the parent.

What did I mess up and how can i fix it? I have several days into this document and would really hate to have to start over. I am at your mercy, dead in the water with nowhere else to turn.

Thanks for any help.

TOPICS
Bug

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Participant , Aug 08, 2022 Aug 08, 2022

OK wait, I think I might have just figure this out, or maybe its just working better after a reboot, or both......

I think I get it, if I make a frame in a parent, I can't put a different image in that same parent frame in each child.