Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Checking if an object exists on a page

Enthusiast ,
Aug 18, 2015 Aug 18, 2015

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

I'm trying to automate adding commonly-used elements on existing documents and I want to be able to check if an object already exists on the page so that it doesn't get added twice. I'm pretty new to JavaScript but pretty confident in Indesign CC.

Here is the script fragment that I want to do the job:

// add address window

if(!doesObjectExist(myAddressWindow)){

var myAddressWindow=myDocument.pages.item(0).textFrames.add();

var myCorners=CornerOptions.ROUNDED_CORNER;

myAddressWindow.properties={name:"myAddressWindow",geometricBounds:["33mm", "20mm", "78mm", "110mm"],strokeWeight:0.5,strokeColor:"Magenta",topLeftCornerOption:myCorners,topRightCornerOption:myCorners,bottomLeftCornerOption:myCorners,bottomRightCornerOption:myCorners};

}

function doesObjectExist(objectName){

with(myDocument.pages.everyItem){

if(name==objectName){

return true;

}

}

the myAddressWindow element always get added, even if it already exists and I can't figure out why.

Thanks and regards,

Malcolm

TOPICS
Scripting

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Aug 19, 2015 Aug 19, 2015

Hi Malcom,

you could use itemByName() on the pageItems in the document, if that element you are looking for is not nested ( inside a group or inside a graphic frame or anchored to a text frame etc.pp).:

testSomething("TheNameOfTheThing");

function testSomething(/*String*/myName){

if( app.documents[0].pageItems.itemByName(myName).isValid ){

//Nothing to do:

$.writeln("Nothing to do.")

return;

};

else{ doSomething() };

};

function doSomething(){

Votes

Translate

Translate
Advisor ,
Aug 19, 2015 Aug 19, 2015